The fear of a starter (my experience) series1

in #fashion6 years ago

stock-photo-silhouette-of-woman-s-head-with-waving-hair-back-light-563555992.jpg
[[source]]https://www.shutterstock.com/image-photo/silhouette-womans-head-waving-hair-back-563555992?src=4tiSDRCtPzySUdbqgmjQ0g-1-26

Hello steemians, I want to share with you my experience when I wanted to start my fashion designing shop.

I started learning tailoring as play play thing around December 2010 when I finished my National Diploma, I was going there just to look. For my mind I was looking for a good IT placement so I didn't pay attention to tailoring.

Three months passed, no placement, before I know it six months gone so, I was forced to focus on the tailoring. Around September 2011, I started processing my HND admission and school resumed November. That made me to abandon the tailoring.

I was in school one weekend when my phone rang, it was my mum, she called to informed me she would get me a sewing machine the following week and that was how the fear started. Thoughts like, how do I start, I couldn't even fix a zipper on a dress, I wasn't sure if I could cut simple blouse or Iro and Buba and she wants to get me a sewing machine.
stock-photo-dog-headshot-on-a-yellow-background-324936848.jpg
[[source]]https://www.shutterstock.com/image-photo/dog-headshot-on-yellow-background-324936848?irgwc=1&utm_medium=Affiliate&utm_campaign=Hans%20Braxmeier%20und%20Simon%20Steinberger%20GbR&utm_source=44814&utm_term=
My mum is a perfectionist, and you know what it means. She expected me to have had the knowledge in tailoring. She got the machine for me and I dropped it in my room. I always avoid going home because I don't want anybody to engage me in sewing. My room mates clothes was damaged when she forced me to make Caribbean gown for her, me that can not make simple gown...... not to talk of Caribbean gown mtcheew.

After graduation while waiting for call-up letter, like 2-3months,i used some of my savings to get some materials, went back to my tailoring teacher and started doing some practical. I was able to get better at my cutting and sewing but the fear was still there.
stock-photo-sad-woman-sitting-on-a-sofa-in-the-living-room-641208637.jpg
[[source]]https://www.shutterstock.com/image-photo/sad-woman-sitting-on-sofa-living-641208637?src=4tiSDRCtPzySUdbqgmjQ0g-1-45

I wanted to become better so I took my machine with me to my PPA, my colleagues wanted to give me clothes to sew for them,but I always excuse myself because I didnt want to become a laughing stock.

Watch out for my next series steemians, I remain your lovely @raretreasure
57155ca6215deb008ac014755cc0acdb.jpg
Don't forget to show some love.

Sort:  

Congratulations @raretreasure! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

hmmm! I'm getting to read about this despite what i know about you.

Yeah, we never got to talk about it.

I can so relate with your story. I am in that phase now and I know I will scale through someday. Hope you will teach me how to sew?lol.Where do you reside?

@esttyb,of course.
If one is not ashamed of him or herself you will definitely get there.
The first thing to do is to get above the fear and please don't be afraid to make mistakes.

I'm in Ibadan presently.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68728.62
ETH 3843.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65