Back In My Knitting Days

in #fashion6 years ago (edited)

Once upon a time I was heavily into knitting. I started developing machine knits for my final collection during the last year of my bachelor degree of Fashion Design in the Netherlands. Several months later after I joined a company in Paris to work on designing and developing knits for their collections. Then I went on to do a collection of knitted accessories of my own. I thought it would be fun to share a few photos of what I was up to back then!

The first knitted garment I created was this peach cardigan in uni which was part of a mini collection of draped dresses and tops.

Crocheted, not knitted, style from my final collection, until this day still one of my favourite looks from that collection.

Knit and crochet samples from that same collection.

Knitted skirt, dress and top I did whilst working for a ready-to-wear fashion house in Paris.

Final touches on the garments hours before they'll be shown during the catwalk show, stressful times - I'm not too sad those days are over.

A compilation of designs taken from my knitted scarves and knitted designs that were created to be sold through a licensing agency to companies looking to acquire knitwear designs for their collections.

Scarves, gloves and headbands I designed and knitted.

Images of my knitted accessories on a model and as flat lays.

I've since decided to move away from knitwear as however much I loved it, it was very time consuming and challenging to scale up. I've found that it is not just knitted designs that I love but print and pattern in general and so I'm currently moving in that direction and aim to add illustration and hand lettering to my repertoire as I develop my 2d skills.


As always, all words and artwork are my own. Some of the photographs in this posts were taken by professional photographers: S. Ophof, I. de Kok and K&K LABS



I post about my work and what inspires me! Follow my journey as a pattern designer and see what art, people and places I find inspirational here.

Sort:  

damn, you were good at it! sad you couldn't continue...

Thank you! I really did like it, but luckily I like a lot of other things too, I shall put my crafty-ness to use somehow :-)

Great! As long as you're happy with your decision :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62656.62
ETH 2941.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59