Fate & Numerology

in #fate6 years ago

TheFatesSculpture.png

Photo by Andreas Praefcke, Sculpture by Gottfried Schadow c.1790
National Gallery of Berlin

Lately, I have been ruminating on the ways my life may have been different if I had moved to the city the quarter didn't land on so many years ago. I was in my early twenties and change was calling me. I was waiting tables at a newly opened Irish pub where I had recently been fired for unintentionally telling a local food critic, who happened to be dining with us that afternoon, that “the specials are not very good today, I would stick to items on the menu”. The day after I was dismissed I decided to cast my fate with a coin toss. I flipped a quarter that spring afternoon in the sunny living room of my apartment in Alexandria, VA. Heads was San Francisco and tails was New York City. The quarter spun hypnotically in the air and landed on heads: San Francisco. I did not do a best two out of three. In my mind, and in that moment, it was decided. It was time to say farewell to my country's forefathers and go West.

I arrived in San Francisco later that summer, car packed so tightly you couldn't see out of the rear view mirror, on August 8th (coincidentally, I'm a life path 8 in numerology). The story unfolds from there but I often wonder how it might have been written if the fates had sent me to NYC instead. Did that coin toss save me from something sinister awaiting me in New York ? Did it steer me to California for a reason ? Like falling in love for the first time (which it did) ?

sarahcooper illustration.png

Illustration by Sarah Cooper, The Cooper Review

If I had had numerology in my life then, would I have chosen a different path ? The numbers can inspire us to make courageous moves by uncannily predicting situations and meetings we didn't think possible. Armed with this knowledge we are able to amplify our powers of manifestation and also our ability to control the outcomes. Things as simple as deciding when to take that vacation, or run a marathon, or move across the country this year instead of waiting until the next, or suggesting the best time to launch a business that has been exciting us; even opportunities to meet soulmates. Numerology is a tool to a unique type of guidance. It can move us into bold, new directions if we allow it to.

Have you ever let fate decide something for you that ended up becoming a defining moment in your life ? What happened ? What did it feel like ?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84