Dressing Ariel (Ulog #20)

in #father6 years ago (edited)


Being a father, you get constant requests to fix and repair various toys and other bits and pieces. Most of the things that I'm asked to fix, I can do easily enough. Due to my extreme computer nerdiness, I have an array of small tools and precision screwdrivers, so the tiny screws and various bits that hold toys together are not much of a challenge for these tools.

However, once in a while, I'm called upon to fix something that is a little bit out of the area of my expertise. The other day, on the ferry ride, I was asked to do something that I've been dreading for a while, that I've let my wife handle previously.

The mission


Now, "How hard could it be to dress a doll?", I hear you ask! Take a close look at the way that her hands are splayed open, and then take a look at the dress with the fabric ready to catch on every one of those fingers (and thumb). Take into account that any rip (or broken finger) is a fail state for the mission of "dressing Ariel".

This was going to be a tough mission with only one acceptable outcome (given that dumping it on my wife again was not option!).

Note that in the above picture, I had already managed to do one arm, which took a good 15 minutes of slowly shuffling the sleeve around the tiny bony stick fingers, being extra careful that nothing caught and nothing ripped. Only after doing the first arm did I think that I could make a little ulog out of it, and I wasn't sadistic (or is that masochistic) enough to remove the arm from the sleeve to begin again (which takes incredibly little effort and can be done in a few seconds with a quick tug).

Ascending the second arm


After taking a quick coffee break (Father Union rules, no longer than 15 minutes on the job without a quick break!), I made a start on the second arm! The first part was super easy, as there was nothing for the fingers to get caught on.


However, this is where the process gets quite tricky. Careful shuffling of the fabric around the fingers, alternating sides and going slowly around the hand was the only way forward. Every millimetre (0.983572984 ant strides) was a hard fought victory, this was worse than the protracted trench warfare of the First World War, although it was noticeably less bloody...

I realised a little late that the fingers were also flexible, which meant that the fabric could slip past, but then the fingers would spring back and push the fabric back in the best case, or get caught on the fabric in the worst case!

Success!


Two arms finally done, and Ariel was ready to attend whatever fictional ball or wedding that she was supposed to be ready for. Not a bad job if I say so myself! No wonder the ladies of old needed so many maids-in-waiting to help dress them, if this doll was any indication, it's much harder to get dressed in a ball gown than I had originally would have thought!

Although, I'm not sure that this princess is a good role model with her mean arse tattoos!



Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones



The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189


LEAVE THIS PART AS IS



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.gamerjokerbreadder.com/2018/08/16/dressing-ariel-ulog-20/

Sort:  

Nice job in the end tho!

No tears in the dress, arms still intact, sanity retained! Mission accomplished!

Ahahaha! I remember the agony of doing this (repeatedly) for my little sister. Fiddly bloomin' things! Oh - and is it weird that I'm jealous of her doll-hair? Or is that a sickness that can be treated? ;) E x

Take the photo to your hairdresser! This is what I want!

Tried that. Got laughed out of the salon. Repeatedly. I am now hairdresser-less. And intend to keep it that way forever more!!!

don't listen to them
if Ariel pulls it off.... WHO COULDN'T?!?!?!

Exactly- Ariel is my style guru ;)

Wow! Well done on dressing our Princess Ariel and getting her ready for her ball! Not an easy task indeed...

The fairy godmother had it easy, I need a wand that could just go... Poof!

Hahahaha well done on this challengeling feat! I suppose we chics take tasks like these for granted!! Snd prob dont need the coffee break despite the union rules lol!!

How long did it take you overall if i may ask?

Surprisingly a long time... It was pushing 30 minutes by the time I finished!

Lol hard work indeed! You need to make a tutorial for other dads!

Posted using Partiko Android

The unexpected trials and triumphs of parenthood.

Ha, Yes, the little victories...

This post gave me such a good chuckle and I could relate from experience from doing the same with both my daughters and more recently with my Grand Daughet lOL

Now, if only the clothes were not so tight fitting, it would be an easier job!

@bengy Thats so true they are crazy tight

RE: Your Post

Musings -

GI Joes were "action figures", NOT dolls for boys!

I had this unhealthy attraction to Ariel in "The Little Mermaid". Probably need therapy on that one.

Lol!

And the acclaimed sci-fi writer, Philip K. Dick created many of his stories and characters after observing his two stepdaughters playing with their Barbies.

BTW, the "ASSOCIES" tattoo seems ok, but the rest could've been incorporated into a Bar Code (a la Jessica Alba in "Dark Angel").

Lastly, (IMHO) "Tramp Stamps" are cooler if they're inked much lower, no?

Namaste, JaiChai

Ha ha, great collection of thoughts that made me chuckle! Especially the tramp stamp one!

hahahahahaa oh man - i missed this!!!!!!!!! just got mentioned in PYPT hehehehe and i laughed so hard about this!!!!!!!!!!! you are amazing <3

Ha, glad you enjoyed it! I enjoyed writing it, a little less so when actually doing it. I wonder what message it gives... Takes 30 minutes to dress and naked in 5 seconds...

well - as I mentioned in PYPT.... she doesn't wear panties.
so.
hmmmmm (not real ones anyway... the hussy!) LOLOLOLOL

Ha ha! Best post I've seen all week! Love your description of the process! 😁
Thanks for sharing this chuckle with #steemitbloggers

Ha ha, I'm surprised that people found it funny! I thought it was just going to turn out to be a pretty boring post about a pretty mundane thing...

My daughter (if I had one) would be screwed as I'm not a handy man. Are American Dolls still a thing?

Somehow, I don't think they will ever go out of fashion... They are really all over the world!

Huh - good to know. I'm out of the loop since I don't work in a public school anymore.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95