You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rejected!

in #father6 years ago

How disappointing!! When mine were young, it was Toy Story; I couldn't wait to go the the theater to see all three of them :)

I remember the same sense of disappointment around camping. I used to take my two boys camping all the time, and the last time we went, they were teenager, both brought friends, and they all blew me off until the five of them needed to eat :)

I'm afraid this is the first of many @bengy ... sorry to be the bearer of that bad news!

Sort:  

Yeah, I know it is coming... I just didn't expect it to start already! On the plus side, that means more free time for me?

That is certainly the plus plus plus side of it all @bengy 😎

@lynncoyle1 & @bengy,

I used to take my two boys camping all the time, and the last time we went, they were teenager, both brought friends, and they all blew me off until the five of them needed to eat :)

So ... DON'T FEED THEM!!!

Hunger is a powerful motivator and changes your perspective on everything.

I'm a go-getter. If my daughter tries to pull any of that "I'm too old to ..." baloney, I go-get it ... multiplied by 100. Attention and love words from a daughter to her daddy is NOT something she gets to grow out of. Her girlfriends (whom I tutor) all know it too (misery loves company) ... if they don't give me enough attention, I turn up the heat. All of their parents have granted me the absolute authority to confiscate their cell phones. And I bloody-well do.

I blackmail them.

"Blackmail," you say, "is not 'responsible parenting.'"

Who cares?

"But they want their independence. It's part of growing up." I want a Starship named, "The Enterprise." Life's full of disappointments. That's part of growing up too.

It's all about the frame.

"You don't like my Dad-jokes ... perhaps you'd enjoy my rendition of 'I Will Always Love You.' Come on, let's sing."

At 17, my daughter remains very affectionate towards her father ... even in public.

Quill

hahaha I really was exaggerating @quillfire! I have very fond memories of sitting around the campfire, going for bike rides, waterslides etc. with all of them :) I realized that they deserved their "alone time" as well though!

This cool cat has never allowed herself to be taken advantage of ... that I can assure you :)

My dad's favorite thing to say, and in turn mine, was "Life is not fair. Get over it." :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63732.43
ETH 3135.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83