My first day on steemit...

in #fatherhood7 years ago

My name is Emmanuel, i am new here;

As i struggle to find the right words to start, and i'm sure I am not the only one that has stared at a blank screen like this. It is intimidating as it is inviting. I have so much I want to unload, almost to a point of choking from the overwhelming thoughts. I don't know where to begin, but I will have to pause to gather my thoughts so they make sense. As I glace over my shoulder, as far as my memory can take me...

This is partly because raising a 12 year old teenage girl is forcing me to do re-play of when i was my younger (when i was a teenage boy once!). Although mine was far from ideal, growing up with no father figure and being raised by my late grandmother (MHSRP). My daughter has me, mother and her little sister - typical (sub)urban family, the stage / transition she is going through is the inevitable physical transformation, and with that comes the tricky emotional / hormonal changes.

To this day, i can't comprehend how I made it out of my teenage years...to say it was a rough neighborhood is an understatement. More of this later, back to fatherhood - i need to find/collect pictures for context!!!

Welcome to my thoughts; fatherhood, family, work and ... that which i can't put a finger on (spirituality?!?)

Sort:  

Congratulations @emmanuel-ps! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote
You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Emmanuel:
There was a time when my home included a Dad (me), a Mom, and 2 daughters aged 12 and 8. Now I have 4 daughters (who have ALL graduated from college) plus 6 grandchildren. But it wasn't easy getting from there to here. Feel free to call on me any time if you need someone to talk to about it.

Also, you might enjoy the first video in this playlist in which Rick Rigsby talks about his own Father and what he learned from him.

May God bless you and your family. I hope to hear more from you on Steemit.

Congratulations @emmanuel-ps! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67495.61
ETH 3713.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66