Flying with the Ravens - A Feathered Friday Post

in #featheredfriday5 years ago

1-11-19

I do not have a lot of bird pictures yet, mostly only the Eagles, and a few Raven, and a couple of Crow shots. I do however hope to get some killer bird shots this spring of the Canadian Goose, and some Sand Piper shots and I will have to keep my eye out for some more Seagull shots. I do have a few seagull pictures somewhere. So to help kick off #featheredfriday first friday, I have a few pictures of the Ravens at play.

The following pictures were taken on Dec. 29th, we went to get some nice sunset pictures, and there were a lot of Ravens playing with and harassing one young Bald Eagle. I also had on our new camera lens, so I wanted to practice with it. It is taking me a little bit of time to get better with the lens, but each use adds to the learning.

037 12-29 raven 1.jpg
This guy made several passes directly over me, it was like he kept looking down to see what I was doing. Ravens are like Crows they are very curious birds.

057 12-29 bird fight.jpg
Here we have a couple of the Ravens seemingly practicing their aerial combat skills, honing them for the next Eagle they plan on playing with.

059 12-29 follow the leader.jpg
Not sure if it was tag, or follow the leader, or practicing their formation flight. I did have a nice picture of three in formation flight I used on another post, so I would lean with practicing their formation flying, either that or the one in back was getting tired and drafting behind the other to save some energy.

Well that concludes my first featheredfriday.

Here is the link to Keith Boone introducing #featheredfriday Feathered Friday Takes Flight

Check-in every now and then at @steemUSA, they may have a new Monday Photo or Thursday thought post.


Check @photocircle for their latest "The Best of Photocircle Contributors" who knows one day you may see me listed there.

Sort:  

These are fabulous photos! And I'm not just saying that because it's my favorite birds. These are really great captures.

They fly pretty fast also, If there had been more light, may not have had as much motion blur from them, these were early new lens photos, I have gotten a bit more used to the lens now.

I always know that I can not consider myself a photographer because I am always going for good content rather than good quality! You may see the deficiencies, but I just see really great photos!

Great shots! Very cool to see them playing! Thank you for entering #featheredfriday. voted and resteemed.

What's the new lens you mentioned?

My wife has a nice 140 MM zoom, but we wanted one to bring the mountains in closer, so we got ourselves a 400mm zoom to play with. It is taking a bit to get use to it, it lets less light and is not as fast a lens, but I am getting use to it. I figure this summer my tripod is going to get a good work out.

Yes, sometimes you have to increase the ISO to compensate. Zoom lenses are notoriously slow unless you have a BIG budget... which I don't! Looking forward to more bird and mountain photos! :)

Nice how you caught them playing & flying together. I had a raven a few years ago that was quite tame. I don’t know what happened to him but the ones I see now are very warily.

They are pretty good show-offs up here, it really is like they know you are watching them. Both the crows and the ravens. last summer one day on the beach I was trying to get a nice close up of a crow, he would let me get pretty close, then hop a few feet away. After I stopped trying to get his picture and was walking back to the car, he hopped ahead to a log on the beach and hopped up to pose for a final picture before taking off, or so it seemed to me at the time. They are pretty playful birds.

That crow was a real showman, @bashadow. They seem to be bolder than the ravens here.

Fantastic shots..

Wonderful photos @bashadow! I love crows and ravens, and find them so interesting to watch :) You're having lots of fun with that camera of yours, aren't you?!

Oh yes, the best purchase made, and then a new lens for this year, lots and lots of fun.

I love the action battle shot (or formation recommencement) whichever it may be.

Hi @bashadow!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.154 which ranks you at #3105 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 11 places in the last three days (old rank 3094).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 255 contributions, your post is ranked at #102.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98