Sort:  

Hello from Wales @janton Thank you very much, they are awesome birds :)

howdy again sir stevejhuggett! You are very welcome, keep up the good work.
By the way sir Steve, is living in Wales about the same as living in England? I always wondered that since they are against each other and it is separate from other countries.

Hi,@janton Wales was an independent country, up until 1282 when the English took control (I'm English so I'm always seen as a villain living in Wales lol)

In the last twenty years, it's been allowed to have its own type of Government and pretty much runs its own affairs. I guess maybe in the 50 years it might get the same status as Scotland but remain part of the Union, but who knows in these strange times!

Howdy again sir stevejhuggett! wow, 1282 ....that is amazing. That's 500 years before we declared our independence! Things are so ancient over there...if something is one hundred years old here we think that's ancient! lol.

That is so interesting. Is being English the exact same meaning as being Brittish? There are quite a few terms which are not crystal clear to me like there's the United Kingdom, Great Brittain, England, Brittain, the U.K. of course, I think people use them interchangeably but that's probably technically wrong.

Well it's good to know that Wales is getting more independence but like you said, who knows what will happen in the future. There is another steemian on here from Wales with the username of wales, do you know about him?

Trust the British to make things confusing lol.

Ok, so the United Kingdom is made up of England(English) Scotland(Scottish) Wales(Welsh) and Northen Island(Northen Irish). Also known as Great Britain

Ireland is another mess altogether! The British ruled Ireland for around 800 years and after a war, the Anglo-Irish Treaty of 1921 gave Independence back to Ireland. But allowed six Ulster counties to remain part of the United Kingdom.

That is where they are today, I guess a united Ireland may happen in the future.

Yeah, I think there are a small number of people on Steemit from Wales. I'm sure I have seen their posts.

So here is the craziest fact about the Old British Empire

Britain has invaded all but 22 countries in the world in its long and colourful history!

Hope me description as helped :)

Howdy again sir stevejhuggett! Thank you so much for he wonderful explanation. That makes total sense now. Well, except the 6 counties in Ireland! wow.
I didn't even know the Northern Island though.
The invading all but 22 countries is an amazing fact indeed! wow! lol.

To get over to England is there a border or check point or anything between Wales and England?
thank you sir for your help.

Hi, glad you're finding it interesting. There's no border etc, just like your state lines

There are traces of the old British Empire all over the world, even Hawaii still has the Union Jack in its flag today

Howdy sir stevejhuggett! Well sir, I agree and I see that all over, the influence but I didn't know that about the Hawaiin flag, I'm going to go look at that right now! Thank you sir!

Wow I looked it up! I'm sure I've never seen their flag before! yeah there it is right there in their flag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61821.21
ETH 3068.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84