FeatheredfridaysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #featheredfriday5 years ago

Hello Steemians

Welcome to the excellent @featheredfriday with
thanks to @melinda010100

The tree swallow feeds mainly on flying insects, and are often
seen twisting and turning mid air to ....
bird2.JPG

capture their prey.
Often nesting in tree cavities, they will use a bird box if....

DSC_1979 (2).JPG

one is available.
An interesting note, when they migrate the flock can reach
into the hundreds of thousands.

DSC_1876 (2).JPG

image.png
Thanks to Cornell Lab of Ornithology for the map.

Upvote!!.gif

Sort:  

Swallows are such beautiful birds! I wish I could attract some here. Great photos and info! Resteeming.

A meadow at the conservation area has installed about 50 boxes so they are everywhere, I was watching them take turns hunting and coming back to the box...

Posted using Partiko iOS

That shows how important providing habitat is. I don't think I have enough open area for them, but I would expect them to be out hunting over the river.

He looks so sweet peeking outdide of the house ^^ That is a nice shot you hot there ;)

Thank you, they were taking turns, in and out, looking after the eggs inside, or hatchlings...

Pretty swallow bird photography.

Thank you, there were many of them out hunting that day.

Gorgeous blue bird. I don't think we have blue swallows where I live. We have bluebirds, finches, bluejays, robins, mourning doves, ravens, crows, hawks, galore… and vultures – rather a lot more vultures than when I was growing up.

Thank you, it was enjoyable watching them do their aerial acrobatics...

Posted using Partiko iOS

Howdy sir karbon! oh, they come down here for winter? I like those kind that feed on insects. I wonder if any eat wasps? That's what we need. lol.

They do pass through Texas, and a few stay, you might see one....
Don't know about wasps though..lol

If I could breed a bird that loves wasps I could retire because they're a real pain down here.

Nice shots!
I keep on trying to make a photo of a swallow but no success by far. :-)

Thank you, they are not very predictable, a difficult bird to capture...

Hi! They are lovely birds! I keep trying to get nice shots of the many Swifts (Similar to a Swallow, but a bit bigger) we have flying around over our block all day, but I didn't have any luck so far either lol!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you! Patience and a lot of luck... I’m sure you will get one...

Posted using Partiko iOS

Patience is the key :-)

Absolutely lovely photos! These birds are gorgeous!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you! I appreciate your comments, they are difficult to photo.

Posted using Partiko iOS

You're welcome! Yes, they are moving so fast and unpredictable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61585.79
ETH 3005.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68