#FeatheredFriday Entry: South African Kingfisher Photoshoot :)

in #featheredfriday5 years ago (edited)

IMG_0999.JPG

IMG_0818.JPG

My dad loved Kingfishers. I have fond memories of growing up near the Farmington River and watching the Kingfishers with my dad. His passing was the worst day of my life. So it’s always a treat when I get the opportunity to photograph a Kingfisher. As you can see, this one was quite accommodating for our “photoshoot” and was happy to show various views.
IMG_1001.JPG

These pictures were taken at Pilanesberg Wildlife Park adjacent to Sun City, South Africa. The park is about 2 hours from Pretoria and 3 hours from Johannesburg. Anytime I get a work trip to S.A., I do my best to visit the park.

IMG_1000.JPG

The facilities include private camps in the park to the Sun City resort, to camp sites at the Manyane Resort. I always go to Manyane because it is inexpensive, has convenient access to the park, has camp sites, safari tents, or chalets that sleep up to 6 adults. There are a couple swimming pools, and amazing breakfast buffet, and believe it or not, hiking trails where you can encounter many of the smaller African wildlife. That said, we had a giraffe walk passed us and also saw Kudu in this campground. I will continue to post about this amazing and beautiful place in the days to come.

IMG_1005.JPG
I hope you enjoy the pics and info. I also hope you get a chance to visit Pilanesberg. Thanks for stopping by, commenting, and hopefully up-voting. Feel free to ask any questions about being on safari or travel in South Africa.

Sort:  

Photos taken with Canon EOS T3i
EF 70-200 f2.8L IS w/2x tele
ISO 3200 400mm f10 1/1,250

A beautiful bird and fantastic photos! How nice that you can associate this lovely bird with memories of your dad. Thanks for posting to #featheredfriday! !Tip

Thanks, Mel! I'm glad to be connected with you here on Steemit. I'm open to any advice/instruction you have re following various themes and interacting with people. I've also checked out other "how-to" posts and advice for novices.

My best advice is Comment Comment Comment! Make friends and stay engaged and you will do great here! You can join @abh12345 's Engagement League to keep track of how your engagement compares. Just make a comment here saying you would like to join and that is all that is required

🎁 Hi @kicktheball! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: A Snowy #Featheredfriday Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Terrific shots. So nce to see photo of kingfisher.

Thanks! So glad that you stopped by. How's life in Bulgaria? I have yet to make a trip there. Been close, but never crossed the border.

Life is good, but the winter is coming. LOL.

Wow, amazing photos! Love kingfishers, but hardy able to see them where I live.

Thanks, and same to you. Love the kestrel shot. It is hard to get good shots of birds in flight. You may not have many kingfishers but the topography, flora, and fauna of Portugal are enviable. Thanks for stopping by.

the topography, flora, and fauna of Portugal are enviable

For sure! I love our kingfisher, but damn they are sneaky! 😉 😂 😂

Congratulations @kicktheball! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Thanks so much. I'm glad you enjoyed the pics and stopped by.

@kicktheball, thank you for supporting @steemitboard as a witness.

Here is a small present to show our gratitude
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Once again, thanks for your support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63175.14
ETH 3047.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63