PHOEBE SUCCESS

in #featheredfriday5 years ago (edited)

Phoebe birds have successful produced three babies in their nest. The nest is in my over turned hanging canoe which makes great protection from weather and predators.

previous post .... https://steemit.com/nature/@manorvillemike/getting-good-use-of-the-canoe
DSC_0414.JPG

DSC_0415 (2).JPG

I have been reading about their nesting habits. The female builds the nest and incubates the eggs. The nest will be maintained year after year if it is well protected. Ugh! Canoe is now a permanent nesting site. The male will feed the chicks and defend several acres of territory.

DSC_0404.JPG
Most likely the male Phoebe about 20 feet away

Like I was saying in a previous post, these birds are Flycatchers. They will catch all kinds of insects in flight. Great for the home owner to be free of horseflies.

The canoe is up under my carport where I keep my old Jeep. Everytime I take the Jeep out I disturb the adult birds. When the mother was sitting on the eggs she would fly off and then come back and scold me. I thought her leaving the eggs might do them harm. But she was successful despite my interference. The babies should be fledging soon so I'm keeping the Jeep away from the nest.
DSC_0417.JPG

DSC_0413 (2).JPG
johnny-automatic-leaf-border.png

camera ... Nikon d3500 ... telephoto lens .. 70-300 mm

Sort:  

So good of you @manorvillemike and you been blessed with seeing those cute little babies.

Hope they made it, a lot can go wrong between now and maturity...

Aww they are beautiful! Lovely that they felt safe enough to stay and have these little babies. Definitely great they're going to decimate the bugs, especially the horse flies! Flycatching birds are wonderful. We have loads of Swifts around and they are amazing to watch how they catch bugs during flight all day.
Sorry about your canoe though...

Posted using Partiko iOS

They won't hurt the canoe.. It's been up there a long, long time...used it once..... lol

lol! Now they've got a nice home and you've got less bugs ;-)

Bingo :-)

Very smart birds!! They scolded people. Hahaha.

Posted using Partiko iOS

They look nice :-)

Those lovely delightful phoebes! I don't see them here, but I lived in a house once where Phoebe's built a nest on the front porch each year. They are such gentle little birds. Great photos and thanks for using the #featheredfriday tag!

Always good to see these proud little birds in the yard. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99