TURKEY FRIDAY

Spotted this single wild turkey milling at the side of the road from the cat porch window. Usually they are in groups.

DSC_0222 (2).JPG

Got the camera with the telephoto lens and saw it was a mama bird with her four babies.

.
DSC_0219.JPG

She was trying to get them to cross the road but it seems they were taking their time listening to mom.

DSC_0225 (2).JPG

DSC_0232 (2).JPG

She finally got them all on the other side where I got a shot of all four.

nikon d3500 with telephoto

Sort:  

I have had a lone turkey hanging about in the yard. I suspect she has babies nearby but I haven't seen them yet. Good job spotting these guys!

Thanks, just lucky with the timing...

I'm glad to see they all got over the road safely!

Me too, everyone drives fast today..

How special Mike. I have never seen baby turkeys before. They are too cute for words. Great looking out!

These are pretty big.. Pretty soon they will be as big as mama... :_) Thanks for the resteem... How you doing? 75 % yet? I'm almost normal another week or two..

Congratulations @manorvillemike! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 40000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 45000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I didn’t know there are such thing as wild turkey.
Wow thanks for sharing the great photos of them!

They have been reintroduced here on Long Island and are now thriving in the wild...

Used to see wild turkeys quite a bit when we lived in Texas... I haven't ever seen one here in Washington state. How cool that you got a shot in with all four babies!

=^..^=

Was a challenge to focus shooting through the cedar trees. Thanks @curatorcat

Now that was something to see! It's Canada geese that are always taking their time to cross the road here. They migrated south as snowbirds, but like so many other snowbirds, they found that they liked Florida, and decided to stay!

Geese sure have increased in population in my lifetime..

These are so cool @manorvillemike! I mean I thought it was cool with just the turkey mama and then you threw in the baby pics which made it even more so. I've never seen live turkeys in the wild before..only on farms! 💖

They are thriving out here in the rural parts.

They're beauties! Just stay back from them. lol

What a cool sight to see glad they all got across the road safely

I wonder how they get through the winter's here.. Especially if there is much snow....

I do wonder the same with so many of the animals here I know some hibernate but not sure about the others

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01