Feathered Friday

#featheredfriday by @keithboone is the place to be with your bird photos! Feathered Friday rules

Barn Swallows are familiar birds in rural areas and in open country where they skim low over fields catching the insects that are the major part of their diet.

I took these photos while visiting Horicon National Wildlife Refuge in Central Wisconsin. There is a wonderful handicap accessible boardwalk that takes you right out over the marsh.

image

The species is common across North America, Europe and Asia, and they winter in southern Africa and South America.

image

image

Nests are made of mud and lined with grass and feathers. Although they used to nest in caves, it is now rare to find a Barn Swallow nest anywhere that is not manmade.

image

Go here (very soon!) to enter this week's Shadow Contest

Shadow Photo Contest Round 54- Hand Shadpws



Posted with eSteem

Do you use eSteem?
eSteem is a Mobileiphone& PCcomputer app. for Steem with great features. Also, you get Incentives posting through eSteem apps.

eSteem Spotlight; eSteem provides rewards for it top users in Leader Board with most Posts, Comments and Highest Earners.

Download eSteem for your Mobileiphone
Android devices Google Play Store
IOS devices Apple Store

Download eSteem Surfer for your PCcomputer
Available for all OS Github


Join eSteem Discord https://discord.gg/UrTnddT

Join eSteem Telegram http://t.me/esteemapp

Proud to be a member of The Steemians Directory

image

Sort:  

My dad in law is a big bird lover. He feeds them in his garden all day long. He would love your post :) I'm not sure if I've ever seen this bird before but I know 100% that he would have some amusing story about them :)

Thank you for sharing Melinda and have a lovely weekend!

Hope your weekend is grand, too! Your father-in-law seems like my kind of guy! I love watching the birds that come to my feeders. One of my favorite parts of traveling has always been seeing all the new birds that I have never seen before.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks, my friend!

Those are great shots! I have a pair that nest in my barn but they won't be around for months yet.

I remember they would have an entire condo community built on the beams of our old dairy barn back when I was a kid.

Wow, another fabulous bird that I seldom get to see! Great photos, Melinda! Those are lovely shots... the second one with the two birds on the rope is great, and that last one with the nest... Wow! That one really made my day. Thanks so much for posting in Feathered Friday and for all you do to support this tag. Voted and Resteemed :-)

Glad you like these shots! They are such delightful birds, even if they do have rather grumpy expressions on their faces! My plan is to get to all of the feathered Friday posts... I just finished with the shadow contest posts and am now free to go comment!

That's really wonderful, Melinda :-)

Hi my friend. A beautiful day for a picture of birds in winter. Beautiful birds in the nest. My child really likes it, until he asks for it.
Thanks for this @melinda010100

Baby birds in the nest are always fun to see. Is your child a boy or a girl?

I have children
I have a son, and is only 6 years old

image

Look at that handsome boy! What kind of things does he like to look at pictures of?

Oh my goodness! Such a beautiful photos Melinda. It's so nice to see these lovely birds up close 🌷😊🌷

They seems to be rare here in Canada, but I saw few this summer nesting by the lake under the roof of facility building there. However, they are very common, but also highly valued (except when pooping all over balcony,lol) back in Slovakia. We used to have that problem when I was teenager. Although our Swallows are purely black and white with red collar and their tales seems to be longer.

You made me curious and I went and looked and it seems that there are 85 different species of swallows. Only eight of them are in North America. They are messy, but boy do they keep away the bugs! I love watching them fly.

I am not surprise there must be so many different species out there. And yes, they are the super birds when comes to bugs with acrobatic flying skills. Definitely fun to watch 😊

Each spring swallows nest on the facade of our office building. I am looking forward to seeing them coming from the South. Now their nests are empty but they quickly will restore the broken and lay their eggs. They are so fast that I never manage to capture any.

It is always a pleasure to see them return! It will be a long time before the snow melts and we have any insects but I will be waiting for their return!

We had a barn swallow build a nest right above our ice cream window at the marina this summer. It was giving all of the customers "free toppings" ! We didn't want to disturb the nest so it became an ongoing joke. They are very crafty birds and they built the nest in a very safe spot from wind and predators. I watch the mother build the nest tirelessly for over a week. She started it by pressing some seaweed into a crack in the wall and slowly built it up over time. Great shots ! I'll have to see if I can find the ones I took.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'd love to see your photos! Extra toppings--I love it!

Great photos @melinda010100! This reminds me, I know where some swallows live. I can add them to my NorCal bird count!

What a great capture of th nest with the swallows inside!

They were not too worried about me being close to them!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84