Featheredfriday - Woodpecker

in #featheredfriday5 years ago

It is #featheredfriday, curated by @melinda010100 and I have prepeared few photos of the woodpecker I recently spotted in the park.

First, let me say they are far from good and I am trying the settings of the camera, which sometimes, most of the time, are not correct. I know, I know it is long process to become good photographer and I keep on practicing.

I had to crop the images, because I shoot from a distance. However this reduce the quality of the picture. I made some adjustments with Photoshop Express app and here are the photos of Great Spotted Woodpecker.

The bird is seen throughout Europe and Northern Asia, it does not migrate and one can see it in the woods or parks all year round. When the trees are bare and leaves have fallen, then the chances to find the woodpeckers are bigger. So are my chances for better photos. I tried today, without success to make a photo of three woodpeckers. They were high above among the still lavish foliage and in the end there were no crisp images.

The one in this post, as you can see, was pecking the bark of already bare branches. Look at the peels, made by the woody. The knocking sound cannot be mistaken. That is the first sign the bird is around as well as the sharp call. Each time we are in the park walking the dogs we listen to these sounds to find the birds. Sometimes they are coming much closer to where I live, basically on the tree next to the entrance. My problem is, I am not fast enough with the camera.


PSX_20190906_084526.jpg

PSX_20190906_113218.jpg

The diet consists of insects, fruit, eggs, seeds and sometimes small rodents and chicks.The woodpecker is capable of extracting seeds from the pine cones The nest is a hole in the tree, very neat and round. Both parents incubate the eggs, feed their chicks and clean the nest.

PSX_20190906_102548.jpg

PSX_20190906_103007.jpg

Source of information and my own observation.

DQmbYFG7tEjDZdTkV366T3XhuJmfKzFJvTyMJfJSdw3nUWJ.png

Thank you for visiting.

If you like to share your thoughts you can leave a comment.

@nelinoeva






2FFvzA2zeqoVJ2SVhDmmumdPfnVEcahMce9nMwwksSDdRvTy3muZDkoRa6sRJZTKMdYH4jdh9mUZDXnJT6LZni4PVGpK9SCfWW7GKCqyQq8Y5CQVehAczpq64gjCS.png

Street name created by @otage

Posted with eSteem

eSteem Footer Line

[email protected]
🌐eSteem.app | 👨‍💻GitHub | 📺YouTube
✍🏻 Telegram | 💬Discord
Vote for @good-karma as a witness

eSteem; mobile and desktop client for Steem

Sort:  

I must say that the pictures look great to me, at least them you posted 😍

Thank you very much for your visit and comment. 😀

Nice post, looks like it took a lot to get the pictures. I have been mostly skunked on bird pictures this summer, and am looking forward to the winter again and the Eagles returning. Seem like them and seagulls are the easiest for me to get pictures of.

!BEER trying out the beer token gift, hope it works, picture taking and editing can be thirsty work.

Thank you for stopping by and thank you for the beer. 🍻
I saw eagles knly in the zoo and never in the wild. They are majestic birds.

Thanks for mentioning eSteem app. Kindly join our Discord or Telegram channel for more benefits and offers on eSteem, don't miss our amazing updates.
Follow @esteemapp as well!

Yes, they are fast and very careful. To take a good quality shot you need expensive equipment and a special skill :) So don't worry about the quality, you done very well!

Thank you 😀
I chose an expensive hobby along with the astronomy LOL.
But my passion is still macrophotography and I am focused more on that.

Yes, macrophotography is really exciting subject

Nothing wrong with these lovely photos, my friend! #featheredfriday is about sharing the birds we see, not about being a pro photographer, anyway.
Thanks for showing us this guy. He is diligently searching for something he likes!

Thank you very much for your lovely comment.❤
This guy was so busy that I have time to make quite a lot photos to choose from later on. 😀

I'm glad he stuck around for you! Often they are pretty shy, I think.

Ohhhhh...you are so lucky seeing a woodpecker they are such a beautiful and interesting bird i have never seen one in real life as yet ☹️

They are always around us and I feel lucky each time seeing them. We know which part of the park they prefer and we look for them every day.

That is wonderful to have that opportunity 🌝

To view or trade BEER go to steem-engine.

Hey @nelinoeva, here is your BEER token. Enjoy it!

Do you already know our BEER Crowdfunding

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97