Feathered Friday A Peacock

in #featheredriday5 years ago

Feathered Friday A Peacock

Feathered Friday is a challenge/Tag started by @keithboone and here is what he says about it

If you love photographing birds as much as I do, I'll just bet you have some photos to share. To participate in #FeatheredFriday and receive an upvote & resteem, please follow these simple steps:

Make your own post and use the tag #featheredfriday
Leave me a link to your post in the comments - this will make it easier for me to find and you will get extra exposure from the other participants.
Consider using the #birding tag which will also get some more eyes on your post.
That's it people, lets see what you've got!

Now due to lack of patience waiting to get bird shots its a tag I may not use too much or join the Friday challenge often, but I looked through my photo folders and found a few shots so I could join this week

1 Feathered friday peacock.jpg

Pentax K5 130mm F5.6 1/90 Sec ISO 400
Click here to view larger


This is, of course, a peacock and was taken on a visit to the Beardsley Zoo in Bridgeport CT, I think, when we took our grandson there, and preparing this posts reminds me its been too long since I visited a Zoo and I must try and visit one this summer
I actually went way back in my photos to find these shots, I noticed it was taken back when I had a Pentax K5 in 2011.

1 Feathered friday peacock-2.jpg

Pentax K5 250mm F6.3 1/90 Sec ISO 800
Click here to view larger



The Peacock seeed to be posing for a profile shot so I took this one, peacocks are such beautiful birds, but perhaps more so for their beautiful tail feathers rather than clos ein like this.

1 Feathered friday peacock-3.jpg

Pentax K5 250mm F6.3 1/90 Sec ISO 800
Click here to view larger



And speaking of the beautiful feathers I got this clos ein shot also to share with you, when you think about it nature is pretty amazing with the eye like pattersn and how a Peacock can open up its tail to make it llook a larger and more intimidating than it looks with its tail down


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.


tatooddj.png

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 41.209492 lat -73.182855 long Beardsley Zoo Bridgeport CT d3scr

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Such fun pictures @tattoodjay. Peacocks are so amazing. Have you heard their cry? It is so mournful, when you hear it they sound so lonely. But quite a beautiful bird :)

Ohh yes I have heard there cry, often woke to it actually as there were a few that used to walk around the area where I grew up , MOurnful is a good word for it, Annoying also works when it is an unwanted alarm clock

Great shots @tattoodjay I haven't been to a zoo in several years. Maybe this summer...

We should both remind each other in Summer to make sure we do, I think I said the same last winter lOL

Wonderful photos of an extraordinary creature.

Thanks they are so beautiful

So beautiful.
It reminds me of my grandma who had peacock blanket in her room and I always loved staring at the gorgeous colors and design which is almost like looking at art. Absolutely gorgeous birds.

Thank you for sharing @tattoodjay

Its always cool when a photo or post triggers nice memories, thanks for sharing that

Always thought an exquisite bird

Me to, when I grew up was in a rural area, and there was some wild ones that would wonder around the neighborhood

wow, they really are very beautiful. The wild ones are the enemies of farmers though because they tend to destroy the crops. I have seen them in a zoo but sometimes did happen to hear the cry of a wild bird, not seen it.

Beautiful photos

Thanks and when I was growing up was in a rural area and we had some wild ones wandering around, I wonder if they bothered the nearby farmers I guess they did

Hi, @tattoodjay!

You just got a 7.89% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Such gorgeous colours on these birds! We have one that lives in Newstead Abbey near to where I live nad he makes a right old racket haha Fantastic pictures Jay!
Keith is an amazing photographer, I have only recently found his photos on whaleshares, but they are stunning too!

Ohh Yes I love Keiths work, he is amazing and inspiring, and yes they are beautiful but can be so noisy we had a couple of Peacocks that used to walk around the neighbourhood where I grew up and they could be so noisy for sure

Beautiful captures!
These birds are so vibrant & elegant. Definitely one of the best looking birds in my book. Thanks for sharing & Steem on :)

Thanks Mate, I must try and get some more recent bird images :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99