You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Literary Mash-Up Challenge

in #feedbackchain6 years ago

Second pint of coffee...oh, dear.

I have been reading less books, and more articles, since getting involved in Steemit. Interesting how that's happened.

I'll try to meet your challenge. Finding the quote is the easy part. Don't know if I have the creative juices for the rest--don't think I'm agile enough for that.

This should encourage more people to engage with each other. That would be great.

Sort:  

I was going to tell you about this one and SO HAPPY to see you're thinking of this.

Don't know if I have the creative juices for the rest--don't think I'm agile enough for that.

If anyone can do it, it's you. I'm curious to see what you choose.

Who can resist @raj808 and @manouche? I'm in. This book is available (publication date 1890) free, online. It is Hunger by Knut Hamsun. The sentence on page 207:


No, there was no longer any limit to the low things I might be tempted to do.



This book wins on several counts. For one thing its first words are unforgettable:

It was the time I wandered about and starved in Christiana:

The clean writing in these two sentences is representative of the book. Hamsun manages to convey desperation, even hysteria, with an almost minimalist approach. The story is basically summed up in the title. It is a first-person account of a man who is so down on his luck that he entertains every possibility for getting something to eat. He is unemployable, as it seems are many people in the city.

His regular employment apparently was as a writer, at some undetermined time. In his flights of fancy he imagines the highly intellectual treatises he will write, with the one small pencil he has retrieved from a pawned waistcoat.

This book is semi-autobiographical. Hamsun went through his own "hungry" period. Eventually he did go on to win the Nobel Prize.

I'm grateful to Raj808 for having me once again become acquainted with this remarkable book.

Also....resteeming. Hope to see many entries.

Knew I could trust @agmoore to come up with an amazing suggestion! And it's free! Definitely downloading it. I'll tell you how I liked it soon.

That sounds like a really interesting book @agmoore. I shall definitely check it out.... especially with a free version out there on the web as I'm going through a pretty 'money is tight' period of my life..... but nothing like what the character in the book is facing. The premise is interesting as it sounds like it has a real sense of desperation and dilemma which usually makes for an interesting read. Thanks for joining in, the second part of the challenge is completely up to you buddy. If you have the creative drive give it a go, if not no worries :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63935.07
ETH 3138.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87