You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Literary Mash-Up Challenge

in #feedbackchain6 years ago

I love this #feedbackchain for very many reasons - one of them being that instead of judging whether to buy a book by its cover, I can judge whether to buy a book from one sentence on page 207.

Here goes.

When Eddie rose from underneath the stampede, he was devoid of a shoe along with its sock, the collar of his shirt, two buttons of his fly and Crystal's ticket

Raavan and Eddie is one of Kiran Nagarkar's best works fiction. It is about a Maratha Hindu and a Roman Catholic growing up into adolescence within the intimate confines of a Bombay chawl.

I chose this book because Kiran Nagarkar is a literary genius. But also, I just moved cities and religiously planted all the books I bought over the past six months at my parents'. This one, I took for the flight.

Lastly, this book is set in the city with which I will always have a perverse, love-hate relationship. Bombay is magical. It's air is full of hopes, dreams and smells of struggle. I used to live in a chawl myself and was looking for chawl literature when my friend suggested this one. I suggest it to everyone else. It's beautiful.

Sort:  

This book sounds really interesting and more so for me as it is describing a place I have never been and unlikely to end up experiencing myself. I do want to visit India if I ever manage to make it off travelling as a digital nomad but I'm not sure if I'd make it to Bombay as I'm not a lover of big cities and tend to get out of them as quick as I can. But then again maybe it could be interesting to go to an alternative part of town to write a story/article about it.

Anyway, enough of my musings ;-) I think this sentence is another great one in regards to writing the next section of the challenge as it has such a sense of movement and frenetic vibes to it. I can't wait to see what people come up with.

Thanks for joining in @manouche, the second part of the challenge is completely optional but I'd love to see an entry from you. If you have the creative drive give it a go, if not no worries :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63700.12
ETH 3136.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83