You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Literary Mash-Up Challenge

fun! i love it! this is from a book called Feeding your Demons by Tsultrim Allione.

the sentence from the page/article/sentence instructed:

"Unfortunately this meant she could never invite any friends home to play, and she lived in fear that her secret would be discovered."

This is a book from a Tibetan lama who has translated an ancient Buddhist practice into modern context. The practice refers to not distancing ourselves from our Demons, nor fighting them, but listening to, consulting them, spending time and, in the end, actually feeding them with our own energy. I've been practicing this all year and it's truly transformative.

Looking forward to how this mash-up pans out :)

Sort:  

Oooh, I love this. It's just one sentence but I can feel the fear of this little character already.

Also seems like a great book, @mountainjewel! Going to pick this one up.

I love this entry on a few different levels @mountainjewel. Firstyly, the book looks interesting and appeals to me at the moment as I'm having something of a spiritual re-awakening, I shall look it up. The other thing is that the sentence you have chosen is great from a writers perspective as it has so much potential for the beginning of a short story. My writers' mind is whirring with directions - What is the secret? Who is the character (seems like a childhood memory)? P.s. these are all hypothetical ;-) I'm not after answers

Thanks for joining in, the second part of the challenge is completely optional but I'd love to see an entry from you guys. If you have the creative drive give it a go, if not no worries :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.66
ETH 3148.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84