Dark Night, Bright Day

in #feelings6 years ago

A long time ago there was a time I was going through that could be called a dark night of the soul. Life was not what I had thought it would, should, could be. And neither was I, so I thought. And so one day in an ancient, weathered grey plank garage that I was turning into a little dwelling to rent for a friend of mine, I turned over an empty 5-gallon white plastic paint bucket and sat down and cried and cried and cried. I didn't care anymore I just wanted to let it all go. All the sadness and pain I had been holding back inside as I moved through my life pretending that everything was ok. I was not ok and I couldn't hold back the dam of pain and remorse anymore. The dam broke and my heart wretched and ached as I swirled deeper into the whirlpool of despair. And then as I just let it all go and pour out of me I just knew that everything would be fine. I would be whole again. I was not my pain or my thoughts or judgments. I was much bigger than that and who I was could hold all these emotions and failings and terror and anxiety and be ok. I became the space for me to just be and be ok with all of it. Life would not end. I would not end. And all the weight left my body as I laughed at the crazy lightness of releasing all these feelings one stacked upon another like piles of dirty clothes. My dirty laundry I guess. And I laughed at how good it felt to just let go and be and be ok with all of it.

So why share all this you might ask? I don't really know. It was the beginning of a rebirth, a Phoenix rising a moment in which I was "born again" and in which I knew that one of life's secrets was to remember that any moment I can be reborn. It became a very creative time for me and I began to write. I have no formal training in writing but I just wanted to capture the feelings I was experiencing as life seemed so sparkly and new. This was around 1994 and I have never shared this before but thought I would here as I just remembered these writings again and found them deep in some old files. 2018-01-30 01-28-07.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @obg! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61663.08
ETH 2893.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48