You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Food Fight Friday: Food Words

in #fff5 years ago

I hope some Aussies chime in, I am curious if they say pass the Emu or pass the Ostrich, and what tern did they use when it came to the Dodo? Pass the do do ? LoL. I mean they must have eaten them right? As for the phrase "Cat got your tongue", I think I'll bypass looking that up since it was "Kind of gross'.

Sort:  

Hey, @bashadow.

It's always interesting to me how some things can be shrouded in mystery or legend when it comes to their origins. Apparently, no one was around to right these things down: First use of 'cat got your tongue' occurred to day...

Or maybe that's all been lost to time too. So basically, the first two options were getting beaten by a cat o'nine tails, very, very painful to the point of not being able to speak (thus the saying), or Egyptian cats and liars and blasphemers. Take your pick, I guess. :)

Pass the emu, mate. I could see that happening. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63153.76
ETH 3045.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97