FOOD FIGHT FRIDAY{}CAJUN BLACKENED SALMON

in #fff5 years ago

Hello @fff chefs, it's Friday and I am at back at home for awhile. This has been a busy week, but I am trying to get back into the swing of things. I had trouble deciding what to cook for @fff since I am still tried from traveling. I saw a picture of a piece of blackened salmon in a magazine and decided that was it.

Cover Salmon-1.jpg

I love cajun seasoning, so I decided to use it to blackened my salmon. This went right along with the red beans and rice that I was cooking for my husband. Of course when I cook beans, I cook cornbread to accompany the meal, which also included a pot of mustard greens.

I was totally out of cajun seasoning so I had to make a batch before I could get started on my meal. I washed the salmon and dried it off with a paper towel.

Fresh Salmon -1.jpg

Next, I rub the seasoning all over the salmon by hand to ensure each inch was covered. I prepared my cast iron skillet by heating it up over medium high heat and adding olive oil and ghee. When the skillet was ready, I added the salmon and watched it sizzle in the oil and ghee.

Salmon in pan-1.jpg

When the salmon was done, I removed it from the skillet. I threw a package of string-beans in the same skillet that I had cooked the salmon. There was already ghee and olive oil in the pan so I added a little season all and was good to go.

Stringbeans-1.jpg

My husband had red beans & rice, mustard greens, and cornbread. I had red beans & rice, string-beans, salmon, and cornbread. I did a lot of cooking today, but it was all very good and we both enjoyed our dinners.

 Salmon 1-1.jpg
Bon Appetite !!!

Paleotwist Logo.jfif

fff winner belt.gif

Sort:  

Salmon plus vegan, perfect! Yummy

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @anggreklestari, sometimes I get confused as to what I can use on each diet.

I’ll take one of your plate over your husband’s please. 😋. That’s one thing I miss about the states… wild Alaskan salmon… soooo good. I’ve been spoiled with the amount of fresh mahi mahi here though. Happy food fight @paleotwist!

Thank you puravidaville, me too. My plate was lot better than his. He was still looking for something to eat after dinner. I was just too tired to cook a dessert after cooking his meal and mine.

It’s difficult to be on different diets sometimes. When Dandays and I were eating totally different it made double the work for me to cook dinner. Grocery shopping also gets tough. Sometimes I just have to accept that he can make himself a peanut butter and jelly sandwich and that’s completely fine. At least I make his peanut butter 🤷🏼‍♀️

@paleotwist
Your Food Fight Friday Contender has been entered into Round 42
May your contender make it out alive and not be placed in a permanent food coma!
2CEE9C63-C646-4F11-854B-AEED926F621B.gif
Good Luck

Congratulations @paleotwist! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

You know what iheart most about salmon? Everything. Ok, maybe the fishing trips I used to go on with my grandfather when I was a young kid, approximately age 7-13. Those are my happiest childhood memories. He would take me frowning off the coast of California, near Oregon in a fishing town, which is now a city: Trinidad.

Well, that and everything between the S and the N! 😉

Dang you look good in that belt like “ka’pow!”

I love blackened anything, fish, steak, and chicken.
This dish looks fabulous, and salmon is #1 on my list of fish.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97