Dishing Up Some Feels {Paying it Forward for #FFF}

in #fff5 years ago

IMG_20190825_124958909.jpg

Happy Friday my foodie friends! You know what that means: time for some @foodfightfriday action. I've been absent from the community kitchen for a few weeks, but I know the gang always has a seat at the table for me. That is one of the biggest strengths I have seen on my time on here--people are always willing to pull out a chair and serve up some of the good stuff for those in need.

I am an Acts of Service kind of gal for you 5 Love Languages peeps. That means I show my love and affection for folks by doing things. One of my favorite ways to do that is to cook up some good food. Now some people like to bake goodies or treat people to an indulgent meal, but being the crunchy health nut that I am I tend to prefer to make meals that keep those I love feeling their best for many years to come. Though as you well know, my healthy meals are never anything but lip-smackingly delicious. 😉

While I always joke with my Steem peeps that I wish I could share some of my dishes in person, I figure I can still share the fruits of my labor in a different way. There are some pretty darn amazing people on here doing awesome things for the world, so I'm splitting the rewards from this post between two very worthy accounts as my tiny way of putting some good vibes back out from my end of things. My @steemitbloggers pal @papilloncharity is always doing some truly worthwhile work in the world, though doesn't always receive high rewards to help contribute to the continued value the charity gives back to the local community. In our same community, @quillfire is eloquently putting out a call to assist another member just fight to survive in the chaos in Venezuela right now. So I am also setting the other half of the payout to @hlezama. I don't always make a lot on my posts, but I'm hoping all the good karma I've amassed through my years on here will make this one a hit to benefit these two great Steemians!

Of course I'll serve up some tasty meals to try to lure you in for the big votes! Though I was without my phone for my meal prepping this week, I think I've got some tasty morsels that I saved up from the past few weeks to share. I haven't really been writing down my recipes like l was for a while. However, I always try to get at least some worthy shots to share for your weekly vegan inspiration.

IMG_20190825_120733218.jpg

Starting with my cover photo at the top of this post, I actually found this recipe on Pinterest to use up some of my farmers market goodies like these lovely little graffiti eggplant. It was really easy to put together and quite a satisfying meal! My regular pals might recall this is the first year I finally jumped on the okra bandwagon. It is not a vegetable I grew up eating, but after over 25 years of living in Georgia I figured it was time to see what the fuss was about. I started with a fantastic recipe for crispy breaded okra from my pal @lenasveganliving, which opened the doors for a few different ways of making it. The fresh-picked beauties grown locally really are worthy of a second chance. I found I also really love it grilled and roasted, but the recipe above was a nice light curry that I served with roasted organic potatoes. Have I told you lately how absolutely fantastic my farmers are? 😜

text15.png

IMG_20190818_173637345_HDR.jpg

Next up is a slow cooker meal I'm kicking myself for not recording as I put it together! Squash, tomatoes, red quinoa, black beans, shishito peppers, spices, lime and a generous portion of perfectly ripe avocado to top it off. (You can give your avocado to @puravidaville, @dandays) This one was lick-the-bowl-clean good. Right up @dksart's alley, so I know I'll make it again and actually write up a recipe next time.

text15.png

IMG_20190827_173604751.jpg

If the previous two aren't your speed, I've also got a helping of patty pan squash with fresh butter beans cooked in my strawberry BBQ sauce over top of mashed sweet potatoes. Why the heck don't I mash sweet potatoes more often?? They are delicious that way! I do love my traditional mash, but I'm an equal opportunity spud lover. I did the same BBQ sauce with jackfruit this past weekend at the lake and won over some omnivores with my plant-based flavors. I really dig the patty pan squash, so I was really happy to see one of my farmers had a late season harvest. They were great simply sliced and roasted with a bit of seasoning.

text15.png

IMG_20190821_182205_146.jpg

Since it's Friday, I'm going to sweeten the deal with a decadent whole food treat to finish of my roundup. I never quite got to my mega-date purchase update, so this bowl is a taste of one of my favorite things I made with the Barhi dates. That particular variety of dates tastes so much like caramel that I couldn't help but make a caramel sauce with them! Drizzled over a bowl of simple nice cream I was literally in dessert heaven! Even better, no guilt over this totally plant-based treat.

IMG_20190821_182205_148.jpg

This was just 1.5 cups of pitted Barhi dates blended up with a cup of water and a pinch of cinnamon. DONE. I might have enjoyed this by the spoonful for the few days it lasted in the refrigerator after our nice cream. The nice cream itself was just frozen bananas blended up with a bit of cashew milk in the same blender I made the caramel. You know, to soak up every last bit of that date goodness! You could easily use Medjool dates to make this, but the Barhi were worth the purchase for a subtle change of flavor.

text15.png

I think that puts me up to date on some of the latest bowls of goodness I've whipped up in my humble kitchen. Hopefully they're tasty enough to get some good rewards to send along to both @papilloncharity and @hlezama! Of course thanks to the @steempeak team for having the beneficiaries option on their front end to make it even easier to pay it forward. 💚

A happy and healthy weekend to you all!

PHC-Footer-05.gif



Banners by @zord189, @woman-onthe-wing, @dksart and @bearone for @steemusa


Sort:  

Tasty treats for real foodies yumyumyum

@plantatoplanks
Your Food Fight Friday Contender has been entered into Round 59
May your contender make it out alive and not be placed in a permanent food coma!
02E70413-1911-486E-9356-57B1D5B309F1.gif
Good Luck
and
Have a
!BEER

Wowsers, is my mouth watering! And what an awesome gesture, to divide your post rewards between two amazingly deserving #PowerHouseCreatives family members. I'm looking forward to seeing the recipe for that slow cooker meal - I'll be sure to pop it on my Pinterest board, and share it with the eldest so she can make it for us some night this winter. Hope you have an amazing weekend! 😊

I need to start posting more so I can do this more regularly. As I told @tattoodjay, I kind of like the idea of using a Friday post as a way to give back where I can. Might motivate me to crank some content out when I would normally just pass!

I am drooling just looking at that photo again, as well, so I will definitely make it again soon! It was one of those simple combinations that always turns out to be a hit. Enjoy the weekend yourself!

Those dishes look great and tasty, I especially like the first one, stew, love it...

I even have some sauce this time around, haha! ;)

Wow! You leave me speechless with this @plantstoplanks. I'll take one of each! :) Love seeing our PHC gang join together to support one another. The plight in Venezuela is unbelievable. Something we can't begin to understand. Wonderful post this week, glad to see you back at it in the kitchen with such fabulous food! xx

Come on up! There's always a spot for you at my actual table as well as the virtual one. ;) It is sometimes easy to forget about a lot of things going on in the world, but it is really incredible when you realize just how terrible some of the situations are. I am so happy to be a part of a group of people that will band together when needed to do our tiny part to bring some sunshine to someone's day!

I saw this post reward and was like.. ah man! I’ll never catch her. Then I read it and now I’m, Go! Go!

Way to set the bar @plantstoplanks. Great entry, tref. Has anyone told you lately how good your pictures look?

Oh, and what’s your wrist say? Yes—I remembered! While reading this post I was coaching myself “don’t forget to ask the wrist.. don’t forget to ask the wrist.”

Haha, I was pretty pleasantly surprised myself! Great to see that when you put some good out there, that many folks will jump in and do you a solid. Happy to use a little food fight for some philanthropic work. ;)

That left side is "sister". All three of us gals have that one (the other two in different spots and different colors). On the other wrist I have "daughter". Most of my tattoos bring it back to family somehow. They're stuck with me and on me.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks for helping support these great accounts!

Oh wow! All of these look delicious!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much! We enjoyed them all!

@plantstoplanks,

Geez ... I'm as committed a carnivore as one is ever likely to find, the proverbial lion drooling over an antelope. Often I growl at my food, the wayward looks of onlookers be damned. But this veggie stuff actually looks ... GOOD!

I'm ... salivating. On my keyboard.

PTP, thanks for this generous gesture. It's as good a cause as there has ever been and I'm moved that so many people are rallying to the flag, each searching for a thing to do within the scope of their being able to do it.

Transcendence is when people strive for a thing greater than themselves. I cannot help but feel the magic of the moment.

BTW, you are a very fine writer.

Quill

We ladies might be easily wooed with words, but we also know how to return the favor by reeling you fellas in through your more base appetites. 😉 Regardless, I will take that as a high compliment from such a caveman.

Happy to use my kitchen skills for a good cause. I'm generally not a strong natural leader, but luckily I am a pretty damn good cheerleader when it comes to jumping on someone else's bandwagon. Now I'm just happy this post has gotten enough votes to solidify the act and bring these fine folks some much-deserved assistance.

Thank you for doing your part to rally the troops!

@plantstoplanks,

"The way to a man's heart is through his stomach."

I'm loathe to admit it, but it's true. We're friggin' simpletons. :-)

Quill

What a lovely gesture my friend! @papilloncharity does amazing work and the Venezuela situation really us bad, wish you well with this!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @lizelle! There are so many truly wonderful initiatives on Steem that help many. As always, even the smallest of acts can add up to something really big!

@lizelle
Thank you for the kind words Lady Lizelle.
You are a true friend!
Blessings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63849.10
ETH 3132.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89