And the Joker is me... - A Food Fight Friday Entry -

in #fff5 years ago (edited)

Joker Popcorn.jpg

Hey there fellow FFFers and casual readers of this space!
It's been a while since I did one of these competitions but they are never far from my mind. Often I miss the submission window and I have to wait until the next week, and eSteem keeps deleting my progress on my iPad Pro, so I have to do this on my computer.

On Thursday I had decided to see the new Joker movie starring Joaquin Phoenix after coming home from the cleaning course I do two days a week. While walking through a reserve near my home, **I was bitten **on my left hand by one of two dogs being walked by a couple after they were startled by a cyclist zooming past them without so much as a bell ring. They were apologetic, but it didn't pierce the skin or dampen my enthusiasm for dogs in general. but it did try to put a crimp on my already frustrated mood and now I am ultra wary of the moon cycle and the proximity to Halloween. One can never be too careful these days... ;)

After going home and showering and making sure my hand was alright, I headed towards the cinema.
My local cinema complex has several restaurants incorporated into it. I should do a review of them all at some point, money permitting. This time around I decided to pop into the Noodle Bar.

Noodle Bar 1.jpg
This doesn't look like much, it's a lot of food packed into a small space

They have a special where they do cheap small box meals of a set menu that changes every day. Thursday was the hot and spicy meal that contained "thin egg noodles, char siu roast pork, lean beef, chicken and fresh veggies tossed in chili sauce". Hot and spicy, to match my mood.

What I like to do is use a little 'life hack' that learned on YouTube. Basically you take out the metal handle (it takes some doing) and then proceed to open the box into a plate. It's not always successful, but does work with the bigger boxes.

Noodle Bar 2.jpg
Told ya it was a lot! It should lay flat normally, but rebellion seemed to be the motto of the day.

I managed to finish the meal without burning my mouth and with time to spare to get tickets and stuff for the movie.

I call that a win - win.

See top picture.

Boysenberry.jpg
As it was recently my birthday, they offered me a free choc top. I chose boysenberry

As for the movie itself, it was quite good. I won't go into spoilers and such, but I do have to warn people that it's not your traditional DC fare. In fact it's not for kids at all. There are a lot of adult concepts and this movie is drawing a lot of controversy, partially because of the brutal violence but also because of some of the other things Joker does and various other adult concepts that you'd have to see the movie to see to discover for yourself.

The R rating (USA) is there for a reason. MA15+ in Australia.

Joaquin Phoenix is absolutely superb in the role and I would argue is better than Heath Ledger's version, only not as calculating. The performance most definitely is. There are homages and Easter eggs to be found throughout the movie.
The music is great and the visual storytelling is inspired. I am still processing it even days later.

Shaidon Cartoon FFF.jpg
Shaidon's Seal Of Approval

.
.
.
.
.
.
.

.

Trivia:
For those who were paying attention to my posts, I have been editing the "Shaidon's Seal Of Approval"s to include a little
object in my hand that highlights the subject I am talking about. In my FFF competitions I will be holding a fork.
In Splinterlands posts I will be holding a Cocatrice card, etc. Thanks for reading, upvoting and sharing!

#hoyts #hoytssalisbury

Sort:  

Nice to hear from you again, welcome back to #fff.
I enjoyed your post, you have a very smooth way of writing, nice.
Have a fun day.

Thank you for supporting @CatsMakeKittens by being a part of our community @shaidon.

Each CATS you purchase gets you daily upvotes from me @CatScientist as our community grows so do your rewards for being a member!

This post has been resteemed by @original.content.

Follow me to keep up-to-date with posts tagged #oc and the author on ocdb's follow list.


Powered by witness untersatz!

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @sbi-booster.

Nice to see you again @shaidon. I really dig your cover image this week.

@shaidon
Your Food Fight Friday Contender has been entered into Round 63
May your contender make it out alive and not be placed in a permanent food coma!
02E70413-1911-486E-9356-57B1D5B309F1.gif
Good Luck
and
Have a
!BEER

Command accepted!



Hey @shaidon, here is a little bit of BEER for you. Enjoy it!

Dinner and a movie, sounds like a good evening @shaidon. Good little trick making a plate out of the box.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05