"My entry for the "WE LOVE ANIMALS - PHOTO CONTEST" by @flamingirl" Day #4


This is another of my favorite animal shots from Australia

Lace Monitor

We came across this mid sized Lace Monitor while we were hiking in a National Park on the Eastcoast of Australia.

When I heard a rustle, I first thought of a snake, but then I saw him. Quickly I grabbed the camera and followed him a few steps to get a good picture. They can be pretty fast if they want to, but fortunately I managed to capture this photo.

PB251167.jpg


PROOF

IMG_0863.JPG

Travel.jpg

Sort:  

Love this kind of animal. We have also also a lot of them here in the dominican republic

I think they are even more common on your side of the world.

Given that they are fast, you managed to take a great picture :D :D

I wanted to ask you if that is a lizard in the genus Varanus, and then I found out that they really are called Monitor lizards (large lizards in the genus Varanus) and that the name Lace Monitor doesn't mean anything else. That's pretty hilarious since the computer screens are called monitors as well. :D :D

Thanks @mystic-creature

haha that´s exactly my thoughts. I was confused as well. I´ve no idea what that "monitor" stands for.

That is a beauty! Good thing you managed to get it!! :)

You're most welcome! :)

very nice shot! Do I have to be nominated or can everyone participate? Do you have a link to the original post?

thank you @caravanci. everyone can participate. this is the post with all the rules. Looking forward to see your contribution.

https://steemit.com/fg-photocontest/@flamingirl/50-sbd-to-win-and-128060-we-love-animals-photo-contest-and-128060

Wow, never seen this species. Beautiful reptile! :)

Thanks Petr. They are, but can get really pissed if you come to close. We´ve once seen a big one and he was so mad at me! 😁

P1030472.jpg
slightly bigger 😉

Woow! How big was this guy?! That´s increidble! And I thought our iguanas in Mexico were big :D

IMG_20171116_140629.jpg

This one was about 1 meter long. As you can see, he didn´t give a sh*t about my presence :D

This one looks beautiful, he looks so proud! 😁
I guess the same size, about 1-1.50m long. The biggest we´ve seen in Malaysia, they circled a baby cow. 😬

eheh I like it! Where did you take this photo? I guess jurassic park? :D
btw. you inspired me to join this contest, too.. thanks ;)

True, how do you know? 😜

Cool, will check your Entry!

Super cool!
Pin ich zu mir großer!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97