You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: You Have Such Beautiful Hands (I Failed)

in #fiction5 years ago

Wow! That's ending. Hit me in the stomach like a punch.

I read @chinyerevivian's story...that's where my impulse first went, except I imagined the infection would go in the other direction, that in touching the hand of another the narrator brought about her own demise. Because she had a compromised immune system. She knew better than to make contact, but contact was irresistible--human.

Fascinating how each of us--no matter how many of us that may be--brings to a scene part of our hidden selves. In your stories, it seems to me, your characters often take decisive action--resolve once and for all, some conflict.

The wonder of art. What it tells us. Where it takes us.

Sort:  

That is what I love in stories, the endless possibilities, the combinations of facts that bring so many different endings. And the writer gets to choose only one, but the readers can create their own.

Maybe my characters resolve their issues once and for all because I have trouble dealing woth my problems so straightforwardly (and I don't mean by killing people who give me a hard time - ahahaha). My indecisiveness is balanced by my heroes' determination.

By the way, would you like to join us on whaleshares.io? There is quite a creative engagement group of people who write there. Think about it. You'd make a great addition to the community 😀

I think writing is like dreaming--a place to work out internal conflict. Except, in writing we protect ourselves and disguise the darkest urges by creating scenes and protagonists. It's a wonderful thing, to have that invented universe under our control, and yet inspired by a reservoir of dimly understood urges.
I thank you for that invitation. You know, I'm quite old (on Steemit and everywhere else in the universe), but my creative energy has not lagged. If anything, it has blossomed with age. I can't resist temptation to create in a new environment. But I don't understand whaleshares.io. I trust you implicitly, so I' figure it out, make sure I understand the technical aspects of it. And then, if you're having fun there, so will I, probably.
BTW--have you checked out Shaka's #letsmakeacollage? He just started a new round. It's great fun. Between your photography skills and your imagination, this should be an invigorating exercise for you. I'm skilled in neither photography nor art, but each time I take the plunge. Already I'm planning an absurd fantasy.
Thank you again, for having confidence in me. I'm smiling right now :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64512.59
ETH 3174.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85