A Vampire Eloim Story, Keeper of the Lore. Book 5 part 12.

in #fiction5 years ago

V.ELOIM 5.JPG

All three walked in silence until they entered the private chambers Lord and Lady Vi had shared, only then did Lady Vi turn to face the Paris clan’s lord.
“You have long been a friend to our clan but with the events in Paris with treason within your own clan and my clan attacked here within our own citadel forgive me if trust in all members of your clan is hard to give.” Lady Vi said searching for the slightest trace of betrayal in Lord Luc’s face.
“I understand, were our roles reversed I would doubt everyone too, what assurances do you require of me and my clan?” Lord Luc asked.
“Childe, you can come out now.” Lady Vi said and after a moment a door opened at the rear of the room and Eloim walked though.
“It seems you were right in Eloim being resourceful.” Miss Penny said in surprise.
“It is good to see at least he escaped unharmed.” Lord Luc said with relief.
“Nobody else must know he is home safe, while he is missing they will waste time and resources looking for him.” Lady Vi said and looked down at the small folded piece of paper Eloim handed her. Unfolding it she read the words and then gave a slight smile and a nod to Eloim.
“Are you sure?” she asked.
“On the best authority, those that helped me are certain.” Eloim answered.
“Lord Luc, I would like your wife and three of your daughters to stay on as my guests for the sake of appearances to other clans. They can retain any guards and weapons they want to and you have my word as soon as we flush out all those who plot against us they will be returned to Paris.” Lady Vi said before looking at Miss Penny. “What have you said and to who of Eloim’s disappearance?”
“Beyond my report to the Priest where I said Eloim was not demon possessed I’ve spoken only to the Countess after the attack on the rest house. If a war is coming then the English clans should know of the debt they owe to Eloim for helping to rid their lands of the Knights of Blood.” Miss Penny replied.
“He did what?” Lord Luc asked in surprise.
“Like I said he is resourceful and full of surprises Lord Luc.” Lady Vi answered with a smile to Eloim.
“Resourceful is one thing but I remember talking to the English vampires that managed to flee from the purge of those Knights and,” Luc looked at Eloim, “I am struggling to understand how such a young vampire could have been there or believe the Knights could be beaten by a single vampire.”
“I had help in the fight and as for me being back in that time I think that is a story for another time.” Eloim said modestly.
“One I hope you will tell me personally before I leave here if possible.” Lord Luc replied.
“The Countess Redchelle has pledged to raise the British clans to come to your defence.” Miss Penny cut in.
“Even with the British clans we are still out numbered and that is without throwing that damn Priest into the mix. Your defence of your citadel has stopped some clans from siding against you but a vote by the High Council could change things.” Lord Luc said taking a seat.
“They need fifteen votes to force the issue of condemning our clan and even with the Americans they are still four votes short of that. As head of the council the Countess can block or delay the council and her support will bring pause to other clans. The clans waiting to see what happens will avoid choosing sides until there is an advantage for them to do so.” Lady Vi said as she too sat down in a chair.
“Father once told me the best way to kill a snake is to cut off it’s head, to do that here we need to kill the Priest.” Eloim said.
“I don’t like this talk of killing snakes Eloim,” A voice said from the back of the room. “and if this white hair is anything to do with you then I’m going to burn your entire wardrobe.”
“Polly! You’re awake.” Eloim said excitedly and ran over to her throwing his arms around her. Polly looked down shocked at her brothers reaction and carefully moved him back out of arms reach.
“Mother, what the hell has happened?” Polly asked.

To be continued.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64160.97
ETH 3145.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86