A story without explanation

in #fiction6 years ago

It was around 8 pm. I was sitting in the cafe near to my university like everyday. I was bit exhausted by student's performance in the last test. None of them did well in the test. After the end of the semester, i would be responsible in font of dean for their bad performance. It s not fair, as a professor my job is to teach them ; i cant study for them!

'How are you, professor?'
I tried my best not be bored and disturbed by saying 'I am good!'
With little bit smile the gentleman asked 'Would you mind if i sit next to you ?'
'Yeah, No problem! Anyway, I am going out of this cafe within some times.'
'Can you remember me ?'
'Actually i don't remember you!'
'We met that day in font of this cafe while you was buying cigarette and we chatted for sometimes '

I couldn't remember him anyway. Actually it is not possible to remember a random person after chatting 5 minutes. Maybe for some people it is. But i don't have that much memory. He said , 'I am Abed. I used to work for military. I retired 2 years ago.' 'Great. Nothing is better than serving your country'. Anyway, I am not that social person and there is no reason for me to be a friend with an old man.

'Do you believe in ghost, Mr. Professor?' He asked me.
'I don't find any reason to believe in it' I simply told him strictly.
'Glad to hear that. I found so many educated people are believing ghost stories these day. Men are exploring the moon and in the same times believing in ghost, what a pity! Last month i saw a physics professor wearing 4 stone rings'
I kept myself in silence, hoping that with being not responded by me he would be bored and lost the interest to speak with me anymore. Then i would get rid of him.

After some minutes gentle asked me,'Do you believe in co-incidence, Mr professor?'
'I didn't understand your question properly. Can you simplify it?'
'I was asking do you believe two random incidents can be connected together'
'I am sorry. I still didn't understand your question.'
'Okay. I will tell you the story another day. Most probably you are tired and bored today.' He said with gentle voice'People don't like chatting with old man. They think speaking with old man is just waste of time.'
I was bit ashamed with words. Yeah, that s true I am bit bored with him. But how would he understand that. I didnt expect that. An old man , living alone always need someone to talk.
'Please, come another day. I will listen your story. I am really bit busy today.'
'I can't say any story. There is a co-incident event in my life - i don't know any story without that. This story is very personal. I told this story to only few people. Somehow i was feeling to tell this story to you.'
'I will be happy to listen your story.'
'I live next to this cafe. That is my home. I will be happy if you come one day at my house.'
'Okay, i will come one day. You can count on that'

After 3 months , i suddenly remembered that i should have visited to that old man.On a Friday evening , i came to his house. It was very simple house. But what surprised me is that i can easily notice he has more than 10,000 books in collection. I couldn't imagine someone like him would have that much collection.

'You have a huge collection of books' I said 'Do you collect all of them on your own?'
'Most of them are collected by my father. He was crazy about books. He used to read a lot. I can't read like him. There are some books that i brought. But I couldn't read them yet.'
'Now you have so much free time. I am sure you are using your time with reading now'
'Actually i have problems with my eyes. I can't read book for a long time. I will be really happy if you read some books from my collection. Books should be read by someone. Books are not for being decorated '
'Do you lend book to everyone?'
'Yes, I do.'
'Do people return thee book after reading ?'
'Not always. But i brought again those missing book. I am living alone. So,I have enough money to provide myself. I spend an amount of money to buy books. You can have a look at my books. By the mean time, i will make some tea for us '

To be continued in next blog

Sort:  

You got a 33.33% upvote and resteem from @singing.beauty courtesy of @apon318. Thank you for using the @singing.beauty UPVOTE and RESTEEM bot.

If you are looking to earn a passive no hassle return on your Steem Power, delegate your SP to @singing.beauty by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | Custom Amount

You will earn 80% of the voting bot's earnings based on your delegated SP's prorated share of the bot's SP pool at the end of EACH voting round! That is up to 38.5% APR! You can also undelegate at anytime.

Looks like you are not a native speaker. That’s ok. Me too. Yet, you have much redundancy in your text and unnecessary references, which is independent of the language. Take the first paragraph for example.

It was around 8 pm. I was sitting in the cafe near to my university like everyday. I was bit exhausted by student's performance in the last test. None of them did well in the test. After the end of the semester, i would be responsible in font of dean for their bad performance. It s not fair, as a professor my job is to teach them ; i cant study for them!

The first sentence you can easily get rid of because it makes no difference whether it was 8 AM, 8.01 AM, 8.10AM or 9.AM The rest of the narrative had no relevancy to that time. Rather than pointing all your mistakes, I’d rather rewrite this paragraph the way I think I could be written.

I was sitting in a cafe next to my university. I was a bit exhausted, by student's performance in the last test. None of them did well. Yet, I am somehow is made responsible for their performance. Is this fair? My job as a professor is to teach them not to study for them!

My advice for you is to install Grammarly on your computer. It’s free and it is very helpful.

I am not a native speaker and didnt write so many story in english. I will use Grammarly on my computer soon. Thank you for feedback.

First time ever I read a post with my full dedication:)

Looking forward to read the next part:)

Thank you for such a compliment. Next part is coming soon :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

It is really interesting app. I loved it.

Interesting story. Waiting for the next part :)

next part coming soon. And thank you for reading the story :)

Post more of these :=)

hahaha.. i will try. Thanks for passing by my post :)

You got a 8.33% upvote from @sunrawhale courtesy of @apon318!

This service has been created with the help of @yabapmatt so please show your support by voting for him for witness!

Congratulations @apon318! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

You got a 15.68% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @apon318!

Plain and simple. Amazing story, especially for book lovers. I love your story so much buddy, you earned an upvote and a resteem :)

Thank you, man. I really appreciate your support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61906.25
ETH 2905.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64