Science Fiction, Fantasy & Technology Inspired Steampunk

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

fantasy.jpg

Steampunk can be considered part science fiction and part fantasy with a mix of technology and industrial steam powered machine designs. There are debates on the different forms of Steampunk with aspects taken from an alternative history of the Victorian era and some lean more towards the old Wild West. Whichever one you like, Steampunk is great for incorporating more than one. I know there are people that may disagree and that is ok. Everyone has their own style and tastes.

steampunksign.jpg

Think Sherlock Holmes or my favorite on TV is Warehouse 13 which incorporates a lot of my favorites that can be considered Steampunk. I am drawn more towards the industrial, modern and fantasy mixture. Traveling back in time for bits and pieces and incorporating them into new designs is one of my favorite hobbies. That is just another reason I love Steampunk so much.

book.jpg

The Steampunk jewelry craze that is very popular intrigued me when I first saw some of it and that is when I began my love affair with creating unique Steampunk jewelry and apparel. Of course I have always been into creating new things out of old things or using them in a different way than they were intended. Steampunk is a perfect way to do that.

steampunkjewelry.jpg

Forget about old broken watches and clocks. They are a thing of the past, which means they can be used to create new pieces as unique as the individual creating them. I have tons of watch and clock parts that I continue to collect just for that. Every cog is different, every face is different and I usually study and place each part until the design falls into place.

steampunkcogs.jpg

steampunkclock.jpg

More Steampunk items include these lamps that defiantly have the industrial feel to them with a vintage look. Something I could see sitting in a parlor from years ago. I like the way they look like they were intended that way all along.

steampunklamp.jpg

steampunklamp2.jpg

People that love Steampunk can always find great resources by networking with other fans during cosplay events held every year. Although I am not as hard core into Steampunk as some of my friends, I do try to catch up with an event or two when I can. I love some of the clothing and more importantly I love the styles that are incorporated into them to make them even more unique. Especially the glasses that remind me of the Wild Wild West movie with Will Smith.

steampunkhat2.jpg

steampunkpeople2.jpg

Now here is a great mix. A snail and a clock, which one influences the other. The snail to go faster influenced by the clock or the clock to go slower influenced by the snail. Or maybe they will act in tandem? Just a thought. :)

steampunksnail.jpg

Writing this post I didn't realize how many times I was going to have to re-type Steampunk because I kept typing Steem :)

Image Source Pixabay

beclogo2.jpg

Sort:  

@mrainp420 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 68964.81
ETH 3733.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65