Paternal Peace: A Fifty Word Story

in #fiction5 years ago


Frozen grass crunched beneath Matt's soles. His coat pulled tight, he waited opposite the open grave.

The bells tolled. His brother, head bowed, supported Mother.

Father in his gilded box sank into the ground.

No trick then. His reign was over.

Matt joined his family. Mother's frail arms encircled him.


This is my story based on @jayna's fifty word prompt: BELLS. No, I don't know where this came from. My brain is weird. It is exactly 50 words.

I think sometimes the hardest part of these stories is titling them. I'm still not sure I'm 100% happy with this title. I probably tried more titles than words in the story, thanks to my INKubator family and our brainstorming sessions. 

They also helped with editing this to perfection.


The photo in the cover image is my own work.





Posted from my blog with
SteemPress : http://bex-dk.com/2018/12/06/paternal-peace-a-fifty-word-story/

Sort:  

Great job here, hon. But I've come to expect no less of you.
Hugs

This is so rich with suggested complexity, @bex-dk. It took my breath away. You achieved the thing that all micro-fiction stories should aspire to: the encapsulation of a world, deeply imbued with complex relationships, that we immediately connect with on a visceral level, although we may not understand how or why.

Thanks! I do my best.

@bex-dk congrats on winning the fifty words contest run by @jayna!! ❤️ That was how I came across this beautiful story. May i know how does one join Inkubator? I'm a fellow writer 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! We'd love to have you. Check out this link to read a little about our goals. Then the server link is under Our Home. When you get into the lobby, just tell whoever says hello that you found us through bex on Steem. ;-)

@bex-dk thanks so much for the quick response! ((: Will do!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94