Black Oak Sword, Chapter 12steemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction7 years ago

BlackOakPrincess1.jpg
Princess Variana returned to her rooms after dinner with her father. Her room was cool and quiet. As she sat brushing her hair in her anteroom, someone knocked at the door. Her nanny got up and opened the door. There stood her tutor.

Her nanny hmphed loudly. "It's very late," she said.

"May I come in?" he asked.

Nanny began to say no, but before she could, Variana cut in.

"Certainly," said Variana. She walked over to the small table that sat in the middle of her sitting room. She sat down. "What brings you here to my room so late?" she asked.

Bradford sat as well. "I heard that you will travel to meet Prince Alexander," he said.

Variana nodded. "I realized that at the very least, I need to go and meet this Prince," she said. She continued to brush through her hair as she talked. "If by some chance, I fall in love with him, then this miserable war can be ended." She didn't want to tell her tutor how poorly the war went. She felt it would be a betrayal of her father's trust.

Bradford sat quite still. "The war goes poorly," he said in a flat voice. "They want you to marry the Prince to save the kingdom."

Variana looked up from the table with a start. "How can you know this?" she asked in a quiet voice.

In the corner, Nanny's knitting needles came to a sudden halt. "That can't be true," she whispered.

"Oh, my dear Mistress Nan," said Bradford, "it can be true. And what's worse, it is true."

"You can't know," said Nanny. "You're just trying to frighten the young Princess with your silly stories. Why, even this morning, you were trying to tell her magic was real. Besides, you know nothing of the war. You're just a simple tutor."

"I am a tutor. And I know many things," he said.

Variana shivered slightly in the cool of the room. She wondered how he could have known. Rumors flew through the castle like leaves in the wind. Perhaps that is how he knew, she thought to herself.

Her tutor stood up and waved his short wand at her nanny. She fell asleep instantly, just as before.

"Bradford, you are scaring me," she said. "Wake nanny up, right now."

"There are certain things you need to know. First, I am more than just your tutor. I am a sworn Throne Man," he said.

"I thought the Throne Men were just another one of your stories," said the Princess.

"They are a story. But a true one," said Bradford. "Here is another true story. There are dark forces afoot. Forces that mean you harm. They seek to destroy the kingdom. To do so, they must first eliminate your father, the King and then you as well. I am afraid that going to Rockport plays right into their hands."

"What do you mean?" asked the Princess

Bradford took a deep breath. "Princess, I have trusted you with much already. Can I trust you with this?" he asked.

The Princess paused for a moment. "Yes Bradford. You can trust me."

"Several years ago, before your mother was murdered, I came here at her request. She wanted me near so that I could help protect you as well as the kingdom," said Bradford.

"You knew my mother?" she asked.

"Yes. She was like a sister to me. Now, no more questions." said Bradford.

Variana said, "No more questions."

He smiled a small, sad smile. "She asked me to come here to protect you. She knew there were dark forces at work. Only, she underestimated them. And because of that, she was killed." Bradford poured a cup of tea for himself. "After she was killed, I entreated the King to allow me to become your tutor. He agreed to allow this."

"Does he know you and my mother were close?" Variana asked.

Bradford laughed. "Always full of questions. No, he didn't know. He never even suspected. He knows that I am a magician, but not that I am one of the Throne Men. If he knew that, he would have me killed."

Variana shook her head. Her long hair swished back and forth with the violent motion. "No, he wouldn't," she said.

"Oh, but he would," said Bradford. "For you see, the King has rules as well. Magician have always been frowned upon, but he has a secret fascination for magic. And so, my magic was his little secret. As to the other issue," he continued.

"What other issue?" said Variana.

"The Throne Men. As to that, several generations ago, King Narod swore to destroy the Throne Men. He had to, you see, the dukes and barons had gathered together to overthrow King Narod's father. Their conspiracy was destroyed by the Throne Men. And for several years, a silent war raged between the Dukes and the King. After King Narod's father died, King Narod sought peace with his Dukes. And so, to ensure the peace, he outlawed the Throne Men and swore to destroy any that he found. With this promise, he bought peace amongst his dukes."

"What does this have to do with magic, or with me?" asked the Princess.

"Well, you see, you too have the Magic. You inherited it from your Mother. And because you are the next in line for the throne, as a Throne Man, I am sworn to keep you safe. And you aren't safe at all, my dear princess," he said. "Not safe one bit."

The Princess took a sip of tea. She tried to imagine that she was magic. It didn’t' make any sense. And then she thought about people that might want to hurt her. She couldn't imagine that either. "I think you must be mistaken, Bradford. No one wants to hurt me."

"Wrong," said Bradford. "There are many who want to destroy you. They want to take this kingdom and ruin it. They want power, and money, and control. And you stand in their way."

"You are scaring me, Bradford."

"You should be scared. Now, you need to tell your father that you aren't going to Rockport."

The Princess shook her head from side to side. "I can't. I promised him."

Bradford banged his fist against the table. "Bah to that. Break your promise."

"I can't. You know I can't," said Variana.

Bradford sighed. "When do you leave?" he asked.

"The day after tomorrow."

"Then you must promise me one thing," he said. "You must insist that Captain Bellis of the King's Own Guard accompanies you.

"Why?" Variana asked.

"He is one of us. He is a sworn Throne Man," said Bradford. "And he will keep you safe."

Variana walked over to where Nan sat, magically asleep. "I can do this?" she asked.

Bradford nodded.

"Teach me then. Teach me to do this so I can protect myself," she pleaded.

"I will teach you what I can. We have little time and you have so much to learn," said Bradford.

"Then we had best get started."

PandaStripe.jpg

The Black Oak Sword

Chapter 1: Part 1, Part 2, Part 3
Chapter 2: Part 1 , Part 2
Chapter 3: Part 1 , Part 2,Part 3
Chapter 4:Part 1,Part 2
Chapter 5: Part 1
Chapter 6: Part 1, Part 2
Chapter 7: Part 1, Part 2
Chapter 8
Chapter 9
Chapter 10
Chapter 11

© 2017, Stone Golem Publishing, All rights reserved--no part of this may be used without express written consent.

**All pictures used are labeled for reuse. They come from Pixabay

Follow @bigpanda for more flash fiction.

Sort:  

This is very good!

Thanks @arturoalex00, I appreciate your kind words.

story princess variana, this is very impressive with beautiful groove. good writing @bigpanda 🐼

Thank you very much @nyakaziz

I would want @originalworks to atleast select one of your post for resteem :/

love in war, love at the end of the sword. so beautiful story story @ bigpanda. I love your writing. 👰 Variana

Very good story friend. I keep reading it. good luck @bigpanda

If you become Bradford, maybe I will become a Variana figure. So cute ..

Loading...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by bigpanda from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @bigpanda to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Click here to participate in the @OriginalWorks writing contest!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62875.98
ETH 2948.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55