When it Rains Roses

in #fiction6 years ago

WHEN IT RAINS ROSES
5/07/2017
Heavy was the rain and badly soaked was i as i trudged difficultly towards a direction i had no idea where it led to. This happened to be the second week of my hunt for a house after being posted newly to Akwa -ibom State, a state where i knew no one but had faith that it held promises for me.
“Young lady, you seem lost” a voice called from behind. I barely caught the voice but for my antelope ears. I turned to meet a fine young man who seemed harmless.
After he got to know my situation, he suggested calling a friend that could help out and offered to take me to his house to wait out the rain.
I had gotten to his house and settled down to a bottle of fanta.
“Probably these people are nice” i thought as i sipped on the drink. i imagined myself living big in a house like this. It wasn’t much of a big house but it was comfortable enough. I suddenly felt drowsy, it took few minutes to realise that i had been drugged.
The next one hour, i kept waking intermittently to piercing pains as i was trudged into. I felt hot tears run down my cheeks; my sobs were absorbed by the lips of the perpetrators. I woke up later at night to the realisation thati was in a guest house. The receptionist shook her head when she realised what happened and offered to help me but I turned deaf ears to her offer and found my way back under the rain to the Corper’s lodge where i temporarily lived. That night seemed like the worst night of my life and i swore never to trust anyone in this state.
I was a core introvert so i had no one to confide in, i simply kept it to myself though noticing some changes in my body system. After a month i summoned courage to run a test and the result came out positive. I simply resolved within me to terminate it. My life wasn’t going to end simply because of a day mistake. My being a medical personnel helped me a lot, i had an idea what to do. Considering the after effect of some drugs, i opted to visit a clinic for proper action.
29/08/2017
That fateful day, as i walked down the streets of Uyo, it seemed all i could see were happy mothers with their beautiful babies. I was born a catholic and was raised to believe that abortion was a mortal sin but at that moment, i didn’t care if i was doing a wrong. Where was God when those men raped me?
I got to the clinic and notified the physician my intention; he seemed skilled enough to me as i looked him up. I was asked to wait awhile at the reception so i scrolled through my phone to keep busy. Few minutes into the wait my mum sent me a message and it read; “Mma please pick my calls. I had dreamt last night of your death. Hope you are good? God bless you my child”
I had refused picking her calls today but as i reread the message over again, tears clouded my eyes because i knew this message probably saved my life. I picked up my bag and made straight to the church. That was my first time of praying since the incident. I cried my eyes out and prayed to God for help. I wasn’t sure what to do but i knew i was keeping the baby.
The next month, i registered for antenatal at the University of Uyo Teaching Hospital where i work and made sure to abide by all rules pertaining my health and that of the baby’s.
I had one issue though, who was responsible for the baby?, an idea came to mind. I purchased a gold ring and began wearing it, i wasn’t ready for tongues to wag. All those that knew me earlier were surprised but i simply apologised saying it was an impromptu wedding. I had to do this before the stomach started showing. Throughout that period, i refused visiting home but always opted for a Whatsapp video call with my family. At first my mum was inquisitive but with time she bought my lie of being busy since i work in a hospital.
Fast forward to sixth month, there were already much visible changes. My matron was very kind and understanding so she always made sure not to overwork me. I had only one issue though, Christmas was fast approaching and it was always a norm since the death of my dad to spend Christmas together. How was i supposed to escape this? Probably my lie might work once again.
As God would have it, my aunt invited the family over to her home in California and once given the invite, i turned it down with the excuse of work and my mum fully understood. I knew only one person could have intervened for me, God alone.
I had no roommate but then i had my neighbour, Mmachi ; who was most times there to help me with the little chores i couldn’t do. She was also my colleague at work. She helped me whenever i had little strength in me but i still didn’t trust her enough to tell her what really happened. Whenever she asked of my husband, i always tell her that he is abroad and would come back when am due. Such marriages do exist after all so my lie was gullible enough.
I was already two week into my due date when i opened up to my elder sister, i knew i just couldn’t trudge through it alone and i didn’t know how to tell my mum so i went through my sister. She wept bitterly and felt so sorry that i went through it alone. My mum called later at night asking for my address and weeping too. We had a long conversation that night and she agreed to come to Akwaibom the next day.
Am happy i have a supportive mother, her stay with me was the best time i ever had. She treated me like an egg and made sure to stay awake till am asleep. The scan had predicted a girl so i had gone shopping with my mum and kept everything ready for that day.
27/02/2018
I could barely bear the pain as i was rolled in to the labour room. My mum and little brother stood outside and watched me in tears. We were all wet from the heavy down pour that day but in all i held on to the bed and tried hard to smile through pain; i knew the God that saw me thus far wouldn’t fail me. I had a name in mind for my child; ROSE for indeed i had hope she would bring back my lost smile.
The cry of a baby, took my thoughts away as i reached out to carry my first fruit and admire the creature i brought into this world.
“Chioma, please you have to push harder this time cause you have one more baby to bring to earth” the doctor said. I widened my eyes in disbelief but definitely they weren’t joking so with my last strength, i pushed relentlessly. Then it dawned on me, if i had gone along with the abortion, i would have killed two souls.
Hot tears ran down my cheeks as i held my babies in my arm, truly the stormy clouds brought heavy rains but it didn’t rain water in my life, IT RAINED ROSES. These were my roses, Rosemary and Roselyn. My mum asked why i chose the names but the reason she will get to know later.
I would be passing out come April 23rd; i came to Akwa-ibom to serve my country Nigeria with the hope that the land held so many promises. Maybe my roses were the promises fulfilled because truly i do not regret having them in my life. I have totally forgiven the guys that raped me. I have no intention of searching for them because it would probably bring back sad memories. I am patiently waiting for my discharge certificate but i feel i have been discharged already. Lolz.
I decided to tell my story so that many would learn from it. To my friends and colleagues that i lied to; i am deeply sorry.
To my rapists; if you get to read this article then know that i have truly forgiven you. Many friends have asked if i would tell this story to my kids when they grow up and am like; why not. I think they would be proud of me for giving them an opportunity to live.
To all my young girls out there struggling with such thing, every child has a right to live. Do not terminate that life. Jamies 20180212_152104.jpg

Sort:  

@blackzee, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

Congratulations @blackzee! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94