Chrysanthe's Sorrows a Memory from Before Uncharted Expectations (Short Story/Fantasy)

in #fiction6 years ago

“Finish your lessons, Hyakinthos!” “No, I wish to play with the other children! Elderly sister Chrysanthe, you are annoying me!” Hyakinthos stood firmly against his sister. Chrysanthe gritted her teeth. “Do not make me repeat myself. Mother and father requested me to tutor you in addition to your classes.” She rubbed her temples. “Only the spirits know the reason.” “I know the reason for this!” Hyakinthos perked up. “Do you?” Chrysanthe smiled at him with glaring eyes. “I am the future king and ruler of this kingdom!” “Unfortunately!” Chrysanthe growled. “I have completed my classes for the day.” He hopped down from his desk chair. “Why must we learn a human language?” Chrysanthe was getting tired of her younger brother. She wondered why the spirits allowed his birth. She wondered why they had not taken his life. “I have explained to you before on many occasions. English is the primary language of the humans living on the lands beyond our realm. We may need to interact with them in the future.” Hyakinthos folded his arms. “That will never happen again. I do not need these lessons.” He closed the book. “Fine! Play with them. I planned to test you today. Speaking to you in this language every other day is enough exercise.” Hyakinthos ran halfway to the door. “I see you understand.” He grinned with a smile so wide you could see all his upper teeth. “Leave me.” Hyakinthos ran out the room. Chrysanthe bit her finger. She wondered why he was so talented. Hyakinthos quickly absorbed his class materials. He seemed to enjoy the instructors. Hyakinthos was already near her level. This mastery had to be impossible.

old-school-s-class-room-1441405-1280x960.jpg FreeImages.com/Tsunei Miyuki

A young boy ran behind him. He was standing at the door waiting for the class to finish. “Crown prince! You are not to leave without me beside you!” Hyakinthos giggled. He placed his arm around the boy. “Laurus, you always take orders far too seriously.” “My father said..” Hyakinthos smirked. “’Hyakinthos, you are to never leave without Laurus!’” He said imitating his father in his best deep voice. “Yes, his majesty decreed this.” Hyakinthos clicked his tongue. “Let us enjoy ourselves today! We shall play until nightfall!” Laurus sighed. “Crown Prince Hyakinthos, must you always disobey. I am the one who has to deal with more punishment than you.” Hyakinthos hugged Laurus. “Stop calling me that! Call me by my name!” Laurus held his head down. “I do not have the honor, nor permission, to address you using your given name.” Hyakinthos patted him on the head. Laurus hated this. He was only a little bit shorter than Hyakinthos. “If you do not call me by my name, who shall?” Laurus knew Hyakinthos never changed his mind when he was set on something. “As you wish, Hyakinthos.” Laurus instinctively took a knee.” Let us meet with the others.

“Hello, my friends!” Hyakinthos ran to his group of elite children. Laurus barely caught up to him. Hyakinthos always ran while he stood with no indication he was about to move. “We wish you a long life Crown prince!” His friends giggled. “Why are we speaking English?” Another boy asked as he was clearly confused. “My elderly sister says I need to spend the day speaking in this particular human language. It annoys me also. Yet, she may catch me doing otherwise.” Hyakinthos placed his arm around the other boy. “Do you not also need to practice?” The other boy nodded. “My parents would like my English to improve. You are the best instructor as you are already fluent!” Hyakinthos gave a smug smile. “Now, let us enjoy ourselves until we are thoroughly satisfied!”

The boys raced each other on the royal lawn and played a game with three balls. The entire thing drove Laurus insane. He was the crown prince. Yet, he acts as silly as the other children. “Have you never played this game before Laurus?” “No,” Laurus said with a quiet voice. “My father never allowed me to enjoy the company of other children.” Hyakinthos skipped over to him. “Then, how did you enjoy your time?” Laurus sighed. “I read. Otherwise, I spent the entire day training. My father deemed it necessary to take me from drinking milk to using tiny daggers he had made for me.” Hyakinthos hugged him. “That sounds difficult.” Laurus nodded. “From this day forward, as the future king of this kingdom, I command you to enjoy your life! I decree it eternally!” Laurus quickly turned to face him. “You are never to use that authority for frivolous things. You may experience many hardships to continue using it this way.” “Oh Laurus,” he patted him on the back. “This is for your sake as well as mine. What say you, my loyal subjects?” The other boys bowed. “May the future king enjoy a long life! His decree is eternal!” Hyakinthos folded his arms and tried to look royal. “As I expected of my loyal subjects. Now, let us get back to our game!"

Chrysanthe looked out the window and noticed Laurus smiling. She had never seen the child smile before. “This is new,” she mumbled. “What is new my daughter?” The queen walked up to her. “Oh, dear mother, I did not notice your presence! Forgive me. The children distracted me.” She gestured to the royal lawn. The queen laughed. “Ah, I see he is playing. Let him experience this freely.” She placed her hand on her daughter’s shoulder. “Oh mother, you always calm me. How I love you.” She kissed her mother’s hand and bowed. “Come to my royal chambers. I must speak of something with you.” Chrysanthe nodded and bowed. “As you wish, mother.”

“What is the matter, mother?” Chrysanthe sat on a plush sofa near her. The queen removed her crown for the servant to take down her braid. The servant gently brushed her floor-length hair. “I know you have concerns about the succession of Hyakinthos.” Chrysanthe sighed. “Yes, mother. It troubles me daily. He neglects his duties. Yet, he masters his classes so quickly. I cannot teach him anything.” The queen laughed. “He is the exact opposite of you.” “I believe it so.” Chrysanthe leaned against the sofa’s pillows. “You must love your brother. He shall be the king one day. If he does not love you now, he may not love you in the future.” Chrysanthe glanced at her mother. “I know this. Yet, I would rather not deal with him. He does not need a tutor.” Chrysanthe folded her arms. “We prayed the spirits would improve your relationship with your tutorship of him. Would an afternoon tea be better for you?” Chrysanthe shook her head. “I doubt he has the patience to sit that long.” The queen watched through the mirror. “He sits still during his lessons. He has full concentration there.” Chrysanthe sighed, “That is because he loves to learn. I feel he has hatred against me.” The queen laughed. "Do not sigh over this, my daughter. He does not have hatred against you. My brother was the same with me as a child. He knew I would never inherit the throne. Yet, he dealt strictly with me.” Chrysanthe covered her mouth in shock. “I did not know uncle treated you so! What happened afterward?” The queen smiled. “I grew older and wiser. I saw his actions as necessary for the time. Now, we have a warm relationship with each other. As you know, I send him letters every week.” Chrysanthe nodded. “How has he been lately?” The servant completed brushing the queen’s hair. “He is well, as always.” The queen dismissed the servant.

“I have great news to share with you!” Chrysanthe leaned in excitement, she smiled broadly. “What is it, mother?” Her mother smiled as her cheeks grew rosy. “I am with child!” Chrysanthe sunk deeply into the plush sofa. “Why is this great news mother? I can scarcely deal with my brother. Do I truly need another sibling?” “This one is female! Are you not pleased to have a younger sister?” Chrysanthe took time to stare at the inlaid patterns on her mother’s ceiling. “Will this one be any better than the current one?” The queen laughed. “We shall see very soon.” Chrysanthe gave a sad smile. “I do not look forward to this.” She began to cry into her sleeves softly. “Why are you crying, my daughter?” The queen moved to sit next to Chrysanthe and hold her. “I lost my rightful place to the throne to that ungrateful child. Now, I must deal with another. Mother, must you bring this child into the world?” “Oh, my dear Chrysanthe. You know I love you. You will be an excellent leader someday.” Chrysanthe sobbed, “A leader of what?” The queen looked up and back to Chrysanthe. “Your father and I will create a position for you.”

This event is how Chrysanthe became the headmistress of the Royal Etiquette Academy. Hyakinthos was her first student until his friends joined. Then, Nerine was old enough to join. It was not a position Chrysanthe wanted or needed.

Story%20ender.png

Written with StackEdit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61757.83
ETH 2905.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62