Crafting a Killing (Short Story/ Murder/ Thriller?)

in #fiction5 years ago

scissors-paper.jpg

Where is it? Mary asked herself as she searched for that last scissor. I know I left it in its holder on the desk. She looked over her completely organized craft room. Every roll of tape lay perfectly on its exact spool. Every marker sat upright in its box. Every clip, ribbon, decorate paper, and paint was perfectly aligned. Oh, well. Maybe, I put it somewhere else. Mary looked through every storage cube, desk organizer, and between every spool holder. That’s strange, it isn’t shining where I usually leave it. Mary always loved to polish her scissors so they gleam in the light. Those missing scissors were like missing the sparkle in her eye. Maybe, just maybe, she was using it for something else the other day. Then, she noticed her craft foam was missing. How the hell can this happen? I always restock when I get halfway! She knew she hadn’t used it all up. That’s impossible. She walked outside her room only to find the lights out. I know I left the light on in the hall! There is no way possible that I left the light off. Then, the next thing she knew she heard it.

Slow footsteps dragging something heavy. A familiar sparkle caught her eye. Oh! There they are! She found her scissors on the floor and she reached to pick them up. They dripped a thick red liquid off the ends of the blades. Then, she could still hear that sounds in the other room. Who can that be? I live alone. Mary gasped. Did someone come into her house and dirty up her scissors? Mary felt the thick fluid between her fingers. Is this blood? How dare this person use my scissors to hurt someone? My scissors are probably messed up now. She held the handles like it was a precious newborn infant. I don’t know if I’ll even be able to clean the blood off the inner workings of it. Mary growled to herself. These were limited-edition! I had to pre-order these! She tiptoed down the hall to look around the corner.

She carefully peeked around the wall to see a figure trying to stuff a body into a large bag. “Excuse me!” Mary yelled at the top of her voice. “Who the hell are you to damage my limited-edition surgical steel scissors? I saved up for these!” The man dropped the body and turned around abruptly. “Lady, this fool tried to hide in your apartment while running from me. I lost my knife in the fight.” The man tried to slowly step away as Mary stomped closer. “So, I got the closest thing I could find to stab him with. Mary changed her grip on the scissors. She gritted her teeth as she held it like an oversized craft knife as blood dripped off the blades. “I’ll never be able to clean these!” She ran to the unknown man. He tried to run away but tripped on a lamp cable.

Mary leaped and drove the blade into his chest. “You ruined them! You ruined them!” She straddled him and stabbed him in the chest again. “Please! Stop!” The man screamed. “Did you think about stopping when you dirtied my innocent immaculate scissors! You couldn’t stop!” Mary’s body heaved as she stabbed him over and over. “I had to save up for these! Perfection isn’t cheap, you know!” Mary screamed while she stabbed him. The man cried as she tried to use the last of his strength to push Mary off him. “Oh, you want to fight?” Mary remembered her decorative knot tying classes. She ripped the lamp cord out of the socket. The man tried to crawl away from Mary and didn’t have the strength. Mary then cut the lamp cord and crawled over to him. She tied his arms together as he didn’t have any more strength to fight her. “You deserve to be as tarnished and beyond repair like my precious scissors!” The man took a breath, “Lady! Please, you haven’t stabbed me in the heart yet. I may be able to live. Have mercy on me!” Mary crawled up to his ear and whispered. “Did you have mercy on my scissors?” The man gasped and was having a hard time staying conscious. “Answer me!” Mary yelled when she slapped him. “They’re just scissors!” Mary began to laugh. “Just scissors? Are you crazy?” She leaned back and stabbed him with all her strength twisting the blade. At this point, Mary wished she paid more attention in health class to know where to stab better. She knew she must have hit something important cause he finally stopped screaming.

Just to make sure he was dead, she crawled back on top of him. She then began to stab him in a rhythm. “Ma’am, stop! Drop the weapon! Put your hands up!” Mary paused to turn around and see the police officers in her room. She looked at herself. Her pristinely pressed white shirt and slacks were now covered in blood. Her manicured fingernails dripped in the red bodily fluid. She gently laid down the scissors next to his body. She raised her hands and turned to the officers sobbing. “My scissors!” Mary yelled and screamed.


Image by Esther Merbt from Pixabay


Author's note: I had a hard time figuring out the genre for this. Let me know what you think in the comments, I may edit it.

Written with StackEdit.

Sort:  

@bvltva, thank you for supporting @steemitboard as a witness.

Here is a small present to show our gratitude
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Once again, thanks for your support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61663.08
ETH 2893.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48