Tanya's Intuition a Memory from Before Uncharted Expectations (Short Story/Fantasy)

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

“It’s dangerous to play now,” Tanya said to the other children. “What do you know?” A young girl said. “You’re just making things up again.” Tanya pleaded. “Tiffany, something is coming.” Tiffany pushed Tanya to the ground. “Who do you think you are? You’re just a poor kid going here on a scholarship.” Tanya gasped from the pain in her side. She’s used to bruises on her light brown skin. “It’s true. Please listen to me!” Tanya desperately told them. “Ignore her.” Tiffany walked back to the other children. This kind of thing happened all the time. Tanya sat alone on the playground swing and played by herself like always.

playground-1-1259363-1599x1066.jpg

FreeImages.com/Anthony Teoh

It grew dark as the evening approached. “Excuse me guys,” she said in a quiet voice. “You need to go home.” Tiffany stomped over to her. “You don’t know anything!” Tiffany yelled at Tanya. She didn’t reply. Tanya walked away. She went to the bus station to home as always.

A hot bath helped her bruises. She didn’t want to tell her mother again. It always makes more trouble for her at school. The teachers didn’t believe her. The whole class thought she was strange. She cuddled her blanket knowing something was going to happen at the school playground.

“We almost didn’t make it!” Tanya listened to the group conversation. “Yeah, that dog was foaming at the mouth. I’m glad he didn’t get one of us.” Tiffany walked over to Tanya and stared at her. “Why didn’t you tell there was a rapid dog around?!” Tanya calm looked up at her. “If I had known, I would have told you.” “You’re a liar,” Tiffany growled and snatched Tanya’s schoolwork from her hand. “You think your grades make you special? You’re still dirt.” Tanya was used to this. She didn’t show a reaction. Tanya walked over to get her paper from Tiffany. She smirked and stepped on Tanya’s schoolwork. The other kids laughed. “I wasn’t finished with that, Tiffany.” The other girl scoffed. “Make me.” Tanya sat on the ground, trying to pull the paper from under her shoe. “Setter’s coming, Tiff!” A lookout boy signaled. Tiffany ran to her seat.

“Tanya, why aren’t you in your seat?” The teacher frowned. “I…” Tiffany interrupted her. “She was trying to hide from you, Ms. Setter. She didn’t want you to see her unfinished work.” Setter sighed and nodded. “Tanya, is this true?” “No, ma’am,” Tanya said as she pulled herself into her seat. “Tiffany stepped on it as you can see.” Tanya pointed to the footprint. The teacher folded her arms. “Did you do that to blame Tiffany?” Setter walked over to Tanya. “I know you’re jealous of her.” Tanya looked at her crumpled and dirty paper. “I’m not lying.” She calmly said. “Are you talking back to me?” Tanya was tired of all of this. Just then, Tanya felt a jolt. “Ms. Setter,” Tanya grabbed her hand. “Something is going to happen to you soon! You need to be careful!” Setter pulled her hand from Tanya’s grasp. “Are you threatening me?” Tanya held back her tears and shook her head. Setter sighed and walked back.

“We have a new student today. Come in and introduce yourself.” Setter smiled. A young girl with blond hair bounced in the room. “Hiya!” She smiled. “I’m Alyssa Woodward! I’m the same age as ya, and I just moved to town.” The teacher smiled. “’Ya’ isn’t proper English, Alyssa.” Alyssa nodded and smiled. “Take the empty seat next to Tiffany.” “Yes, ma’am.” Alyssa bounced over and started a conversation with Tiffany. Tanya sat alone, as usual, studying different subjects on her own.

The headmistress walked into the room the next day. “Class, I’m sorry to tell you. Ms. Setter is in the hospital.” Tanya shook her head. “I shall assign a new homeroom teacher for you. Meanwhile, continue your studies silently.” Tiffany came over to sit on Tanya’s desk. “What did you do to Setter?” Tiffany smirked. “Tiffany, I didn’t do anything.” Tiffany grabbed Tanya’s hair. “Once again, you’re lying. You probably put something in her food. Tell me what you did!” Tanya winced and glared at Tiffany.

“Leave her alone!” Alyssa yelled. It was the first time anyone stood up for Tanya. “Alyssa, you don’t need to hang out with poor kids like her.” Alyssa grabbed Tiffany’s arm. “I don’t care about Tanya's money. Ya shouldn’t treat her like that!” “Fine!” She let Tanya’s hair go. “Then, you’re trash too.” She spat on Alyssa clothes. Alyssa groaned. Before Tanya could thank Alyssa, she had already punched the other girl. “That’s what ya get for bothering somebody. She didn’t do anything to ya.” Alyssa got her stuff and moved over to the seat next to Tanya. “Hi! I’m Alyssa.” She grinned. “I’m Tanya, nice to meet you. Thanks for that.” Alyssa smiled.

Tiffany’s face had bruised up by the substitute teacher came in. “What happened to your face, Tiffany?” Tiffany dramatically cried. “Tanya and the new girl beat me.” Alyssa stood up. “She’s lying teacher. I hit her by myself.” Tanya stood up abruptly. “No, I did it. Alyssa’s just trying to cover for me.” “Tanya, why ya saying that.” Tanya whispered, “If you have enough money to move to this neighborhood, you don’t need your record messed up.” The teacher directed Tanya to the headmaster’s office. The headmistress scolded Tanya as usual. She didn’t want them to call her mother. So, she took a note instead.

Meanwhile, Alyssa growled at the girl. “Ya know, you’re an evil b…” “Oh? You’re trying to talk about me?” the girl looked up. “My family is the richest and most powerful here,” Tiffany smirked. “I can hurt you if you mess with me.” Alyssa balled her fists. “Do I look like I care?” Tiffany shrugged. “We’ll see about that.”

Alyssa ran to Tanya when came into the room. “Are ya okay?” Tanya smiled and nodded. “I’m fine. The way she acts is normal for me.” Alyssa took a deep breath. “It’s not like I have any friends. Save yourself. Stay away from me.” Alyssa hugged Tanya. “You have a friend now.” She smiled. Tanya gave a soft smile. Tiffany narrowed her eyes.

Tanya and Alyssa hung out in the playground after school. “My family wasn’t always rich. We just moved here after my dad made some money on a deal. They wanted me to have a better life, ya know?” Alyssa stretched her arms wide. “I’m here because I passed a state test with flying colors. I like the school.” Tanya smiled. Tanya felt an annoying feeling that wouldn’t go away. “I think we need to go home a little early, Alyssa. It was nice talking to you.” Tanya looked around for the danger. “Why?” Alyssa tilted her head. Just then, Tiffany walked up with a small army of kids behind her.

“I didn’t like that bruise. I decided I’d go easy on you this time.” Tiffany glared at Tanya and Alyssa. Tanya stood in front of Alyssa. “Why ya do that, Tanya?” Alyssa grabbed her shoulders. “I know these kids,” Tanya growled and balled up her fists getting into a fighting stance. “No one hurts the people I care about.” Alyssa stared with wide eyes as Tanya fought the crowd. “Get back Alyssa! I can’t watch you while I fight them.” Alyssa stood next to Tanya and tried to fight. Tanya blocked the punch from another kid. “This is Tiffany’s personal ‘army’ of kids at the school. Her family owns them one way or another.” Alyssa stepped back. Tanya threw the last kid as she tried to catch her breath. “How can ya fight like this?” Alyssa asked amazed. “My mom,” Tanya finally caught her breath. “Made me take up self-defense classes a year ago.” Alyssa smiled. “That’s so cool!” Tanya shook her head. “Not really, I just used it for the first time today.”

“Come over to my house tonight!” Alyssa held Tanya’s bruised hand. “We’re having a good supper today.” Tanya flinched and smiled. “That’s okay. I need a hot bath. Maybe tomorrow?” Alyssa jumped up. “Yep. That sounds good! I have to tell my parents about how cool you are!” Alyssa stopped as she walked away. “How did you know they were going to attack us?” Tanya sighed worrying that another person may think of her as strange. “I…” she walked over to Alyssa. “I can feel things before they happen.” Alyssa’s eyes widened. “Then, are ya some kinda psychic?” Tanya mouthed the word ‘psychic.’ “No one’s ever called me that before.” Alyssa placed a hand under her chin and nodded. “Yep. That sound about right. Tanya,” she placed her hand on Tanya’s shoulder. “Ya have psychic powers. I think that’s so cool!” Alyssa smiled with wide eyes. Tanya cried and hugged Alyssa. “I’ll always protect you, Alyssa, I promise. You are my first and only friend.” Alyssa smiled. “No problem, I need a superhero like you.” They laughed and went home.

Story%20ender.png

Written with StackEdit.

Sort:  

Wow! This was an awesome story! You should consider entering into one of the Constrained Writing Contests hosted by @svashta. I'm sure everyone would love to read your entries! Contest 14 starts later today. You should definitely check it out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56