Uncharted Expectations: Part 10 (Original Story-Romance/Fantasy)

in #fiction5 years ago (edited)

In part nine, Hyakinthos urged Tanya and Alyssa to meet him in his room to discuss something urgent. Read on to find out what happens next!


Tanya pushed open the heavy dark wooden doors that led to the library. After asking around, some of the servants told her she could find Hyakinthos there. The sunlight bathed both Hyakinthos and Laurus in a lovely glow. Long slender fingers moved across the yellowed parchment of a well-read book. A few pearl colored strands of hair bounced on Hyakinthos’ shoulders as he nodded his head while reading. His legs were crossed with the tip of his boot rotating around catching the golden light as it gleamed. Laurus caught Tanya’s eyes as he gazed up from his own book. His body was still as he placed his finger on the side of the pages. His index finger held about three pages at the corners, while his thumb was ready to turn the page. His steady gaze caught Tanya off-guard for a moment.

“There you are.” Tanya walked up to them. “Would this be a good time to have a conversation with you?” Hyakinthos smirked. “Well, my lady,” he placed a feather embroidered bookmark between the pages. “If you are ready to make my bed your destination, then anytime you wish is fine by me.” Tanya stared at him. For a moment, she had forgotten that they were going to meet up in his bedroom for their private discussion. She clasped her hands together and took a deep breath. “Yes, please take me there,” Tanya said with a forced smile. Laurus shook his head as he placed his woven leather bookmark on the page. He stood with Hyakinthos. Tanya felt fingers dancing across her back and up her neck. “I know we are doing this for other reasons. However, hearing you say ‘yes’ excites me.” His hot breath tickled her ear. Tanya involuntarily blushed. “You know, I’m not saying ‘yes’ to that.” Hyakinthos chuckled softly as his lips grazed her cheek. “One day you will, and I will be waiting.” Laurus cleared his throat. Hyakinthos shot him a sharp glance. Laurus smiled sweetly back at him. Hyakinthos wrapped his arm around Tanya’s waist and pulled her close to his body.

“I’ve been waiting for ya!” Alyssa leaned forward towards Tanya with her hands on her hips. She waited by the entrance to Hyakinthos’ bedroom with her arms folded. “Tanya, I know ya told me to go back to our room and wait. But, ya know I wanted to greet the prince, too.” Tanya sighed. “I’m just glad you didn’t get into trouble.” Hyakinthos opened the door and they all walked in.

Hyakinthos-Bed.jpg

Alyssa promptly sat on Hyakinthos’ bed. Tanya leaned against a wall. Hyakinthos smirked. “I requested both of you to be here for a purpose.” Tanya nodded and watched Laurus. He stood with his head cocked to the side and took a deep breath. His eyes met Tanya's and she turned away to face Hyakinthos. “Ladies, I need to use you for a specific task. I must be sure you can exceed my wishes in this matter.” Alyssa fluttered her eyelashes towards Hyakinthos. “I can do anything ya want or need me to do.” Hyakinthos chuckled. “I appreciate your eagerness, Alyssa. What say you, Tanya?” Tanya tapped her foot and groaned. “It depends on what it is. I can not unconditionally agree to something until I know what I’m agreeing to do.” Hyakinthos smiled at her. “Come. Sit on the bed so that we can talk. Standing is not necessary. You would be far more comfortable on the bed.” Tanya shook her head. “Thank you. I’m fine here.” Hyakinthos smirked and sat next to Alyssa. She then went on to lean against him and look into his eyes. “I’ll do anything for ya.” Hyakinthos placed his fingertips on his lips. “Is this true?” Tanya shook her head and sighed loudly. “You don’t know what you’re agreeing to do.” Alyssa noticed this and sharply answered. “I’ll do anything ya want. I want ya to be happy and satisfied.” Hyakinthos smiled at her and pat her cheek. “I assume this would be the point where I explain my request to you.” “Yes! That would be an excellent idea!” Tanya said with a wide smile on her face.

Hyakinthos cleared his throat and placed an arm around Alyssa. She cuddled up to him like a kitten. “I need the both of you to be ambassadors for the humans. My family, the people, and especially the military, need to have the assurance that humans are not a threat.” Tanya took a step forward with her hand raised. “Why? What would happen if we refuse?” Alyssa shot a look to Tanya. “I’ll be happy to represent humans for ya! Ya can count on me.” Hyakinthos stroked Alyssa’s hair. “If you were to refuse, my new plan would not succeed.” Tanya furrowed her brows. “You’re leaving out a lot of details here. Haven’t we already been doing that?” Hyakinthos took a deep breath, “Yes. However, this is a deeper level of importance. My people must completely believe you’re princesses who can represent humans.” Alyssa smiled. “I already got it! I’ll be the best princess ever! That’s really true if ya want to make it official.” Alyssa looked into Hyakinthos’ eyes. His eyes widened and he dropped his smile for a split second. Then he gave Alyssa one of his special saccharine grins and kissed her neck. “My, what an eager girl.” He then chuckled. Tanya folded her arms. “There’s something you’re not telling us. This doesn’t feel right. You emphasized that people shouldn’t see humans as a threat. One of the townspeople talked about invasions. What’s really going on Hyakinthos?”

Hyakinthos stood with Alyssa holding on to his arm. “Please, don’t get up.” He leaned over and kissed her cheek. “You do not need convincing. On the contrary, she requires it.” He gently slid Alyssa’s hand off his sleeve. Hyakinthos slowly walked over to Tanya staring her in the eyes like a lion looking at prey. He touched her face. “Now, Tanya, tell me why you don’t trust me.” Tanya stood firmly on the ground. She raised her eyes to look into his, yet kept her head level. “I don’t know you. I don’t know what’s going on and I don’t know what you really want me to do.” Hyakinthos gave her a weary smile and whispered in her ear. “Are you not worried about your friend? She is so much safer with you around her.” He finished his last words while kissing her ear. Tanya turned to face him. “Don’t you dare hurt her.” Hyakinthos smiled. “I would never harm her. Yet, someone else may not be as merciful as I can be. Do you truly feel she would fare well without you here?” Tanya felt tears well up in the back of her throat. She hated being manipulated by anyone. “Alyssa is my best friend. I don’t want anything to happen to her.” Hyakinthos placed her face in his hands. He was so close to her face that she could feel his breath. “Well, if this is so, then you should agree.” Tanya took a deep breath. She accidentally inhaled some of his sweet tasting breath. He was too close to her. His eyes felt like they were burning into her. “You leave me without a true choice. My friend is my main priority. I’d do anything to protect her and keep her safe.” Hyakinthos pressed his lips on her cheek right next to her mouth. Tanya tensed up under his touch. Hyakinthos slowly pulled away from her face and smiled. “Thank you.” Tanya swallowed hard and nodded her head. Hyakinthos walked away from her to smile and turn to Alyssa.

“I apologize for his behavior. However, your compliance is essential.” Laurus whispered to Tanya. She squeezed her eyes and tilted her head back to absorb any tears that may fall. She turned to Laurus. “It’s fine. Everything is fine.” Her voice was about to break. She hoped he didn’t notice it. Laurus’ hand twitched as he extended his fingers to graze her elbow. Tanya noticed this and smiled at him. “I really am fine. Don’t worry about me.” Laurus took a deep breath. “Laurus, how do you feel about all this?” Tanya whispered in his ear. “I do not have the option of opposing the prince. However, I will endeavor to protect you also if the need arises.” As soon as the words left his lips he walked to the other side of the room. Tanya smiled at him.

Meanwhile, Hyakinthos stroked Alyssa’s hair. “Are ya gonna make me a real princess?” Hyakinthos raised his brows. “What is the meaning of your words?” Alyssa smiled and blushed. “Would ya…” she played with lace on her dress. “Marry me one day?” Hyakinthos placed his face into his hands. He was quiet for a split second and then lowered them. He started to laugh. “You are very entertaining!” Alyssa pouted. “Ya didn’t answer my question…” She tugged on his sleeve. Hyakinthos smiled at her and placed a hand on the side of her face. He then turned to watch Tanya and Laurus. “Hey. Pay attention to me!” Alyssa leaned against him. Alyssa watched as his eyes narrowed at Laurus. “Hey, Hyakin…” He turned around and gave her another one of his saccharine smiles. “I was but waiting for those two to finish their whispers so I could address you both.”

Hyakinthos took a breath. “Ladies, your first test will be tomorrow. The Imperial Commander of the military shall return, be on your best behavior please.” He said looking over both of them to pause on Alyssa. “I’m always on my best behavior.” Hyakinthos gave a smile. “I am being serious. I want no harm to come to you.” Alyssa blushed knowing Hyakinthos cared about her. “Ya don’t have to worry about me.” Hyakinthos gave a brief chuckle. “Then, see to it that I have no reason to worry.” Alyssa leaned against Hyakinthos. “Now, will you pay attention to me?” “Girl! Be careful, the Imperial Commander is dangerous!” Laurus’ voice became desperate and hoarse.

Laurus closed his eyes and took a deep breath. Tanya noticed Laurus’ clenched fists. “Laurus, tell me. What’s going on?” Laurus grabbed Tanya’s hands. “Promise me. No, swear to me, you will exercise extreme caution in his presence.” Tanya could see his eyes were about to well up in tears. Tanya nodded. “Of course, you have my word.” Laurus released her hands and let out the breath he was holding. Tanya reached around him to pat his back. He jumped when she touched him. She knew there was something going on. “Everything will be fine, Laurus. If I have anything to do with it.” Hyakinthos walked over to both of them. He patted Laurus on the head. “Do not worry. There is nothing the matter with him. Is that not correct, Laurus?” His voice raised in pitch as he dragged the words and smiled at Laurus. Laurus silently glared at him. “As you say, Princess Tanya, everything is fine.”

Laurus brushed away Hyakinthos’ hand from his head. Tanya watched this intently. Meanwhile, Alyssa waved her legs back and forth over the side of the bed. “Should I take this dress off now or later?” Tanya rolled her eyes. Hyakinthos smirked and walked over to Alyssa and kissed her hand. “Not at this moment. However, if you succeed in your mission, you may get all your desires fulfilled.” Alyssa blushed. Hyakinthos stood, “As for now, please return to your chambers. For we have much to do in the time between now and then.” “Fine,” Alyssa pouted and sighed. Tanya quickly grabbed her arm. “Let’s go, now.” Hyakinthos turned to Tanya. “Remember our agreement.” Tanya took a deep breath and nodded.

Story%20ender.png

Read the next part here!

Image Credits

Bedroom by DonnaSenzaFiato from Pixabay

Curtains by Cezary Piwowarski from Pixabay

Picture Frame by Werner Weisser from Pixabay

Written with StackEdit.

Sort:  

Great! This is why we always need to move forward :)
Don't Let Yesterday Take Up Too Much Of Today.

Yes, that's true!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62656.62
ETH 2941.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59