Uncharted Expectations: Part 8 (Original Story-Romance/Fantasy)

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

In part seven, Hyakinthos and Tanya had a passionate debate in the carriage. The king took Tanya and Alyssa from him. Chrysanthe and Nerine are their guardians now. Read on to find out what happens next!


“Chrysanthe, you are assigned, Princess Tanya.” The king and queen smiled from their decorated seats in the room. It was half the size of the high dining room, and the walls had a few paintings. Other than the king and queen’s seats, there were a few chairs and benches lined up against the walls. “As you wish father, I will educate her thoroughly.” Chrysanthe shot a glance at Tanya. It wasn’t unkind. It wasn’t pleasant either. “Your judgment is always wise.” She bowed to the king and stood next to Tanya, “I look forward to providing your instructing in the ways of our vast kingdom.” She leaned in to mumble. “It most likely outranks yours.” Tanya had to bite the inside of her bottom lip to keep from saying anything. She reminded herself that she was in the company of her hosts. It was an awful idea to anger them, for Alyssa’s sake and her own.

"Nerine, I assign Princess Alyssa to you,” Nerine jumped for joy. Her long skirt swept the floor with each leap. “Thank you, Father! I am glad you made the correct decision.” She then hugged her father, and he patted her on the head. The queen cleared her throat. “Little Neri, be kind to her. Give her a thorough introduction to our kingdom.” Nerine nodded. “Yes, father!” Nerine grabbed Alyssa’s hand and slightly pulled her along to stand next to her. Alyssa couldn’t be happier. She preferred being with Nerine over being tied to someone as cold and boring as Chrysanthe.

“I will introduce you the finer parts of our kingdom,” Chrysanthe walked slightly ahead of Tanya. She figured this was her way to show her rank. They walked to the library. “You have seen this room before if I recall correctly. The history of our kingdom resides here, along with information on many others. However,” She looked sternly at Tanya. She turned away from her to gesture at a bookshelf. “I doubt you can read any of it. Hopefully, your stay will not be long enough to become proficient in our language.” Chrysanthe walked over and picked up a book larger than most encyclopedias. “This is the most recent version of our history written in your language. I hope it will be of some use to you.” She extended the book to Tanya, who reached for it with both arms. Chrysanthe quickly pulled it away. Looking at Tanya, Chrysanthe clicked her tongue. “Please forgive me. You, humans, do not possess the strength to carry something so light. I will arrange something for you to transport it. Ah, here is something.” She placed the book on a small cart servants use. Chrysanthe shoved it toward Tanya with a smile. “May you enjoy reading this. It may take you quite some time.” She smirked at Tanya. “I will have the servants bring it to your room.” Tanya smiled at her and imagined doing unspeakably horrible things to her. “Come along.” Chrysanthe waved as she led Tanya down the hallway.

“Princess Alyssa, let me take you to the enjoyable parts of the kingdom.” Nerine held Alyssa arm in arm. Alyssa felt like a natural princess with Nerine. She thought this was how princesses were supposed to act. “Lead the way, Princess!” Nerine giggled, which made Alyssa giggle too. Nerine led Alyssa to a special fountain. “This fountain is a wonderful place to visit. You can watch it do beautiful things. Our kingdom has many decorative elements like this. This is one of the wonders we show visitors from other kingdoms. I wished to be the one who showed it to you first!” Alyssa’s eyes opened wide, and her mouth fell open. The fountain was huge. It was at least the height of a three-story house. It was very quiet. The water turned colors constantly. It wasn’t like a light show. The water actually changed colors. Alyssa stared at it. “This is a nice fountain ya got here! How did ya get the water to do that?” Nerine smiled and winked. “This is a secret magic native to our kingdom. I could not tell you even if I desired to do so.” “Okay, I like it anyways!” Nerine giggled. “I am very pleased to know that you do. Let me show you even more fascinating things from our kingdom.” They pranced off together.


fountain-Recovered.jpg

Image composited from the following photos FreeImages.com/Steve Knight and FreeImages.com/Margan Zajdowicz.

“What were you doing with my brother when you entered this kingdom?” Chrysanthe stopped in the middle of a large classroom. There were at least 50 desks and a large presentation area. It contained many different statues and tapestries. “Well, I would like to leave the explanation to Prince Hyakinthos.” “Oh, she walked closer to Tanya. “Do you not have your own brain? Is it functioning?” Tanya let out a sharp breath. “ My idiot brother may have caused it to rot.” Tanya covered her mouth and took deep breaths. Cynthea's insults to her and Hyakinthos grated on Tanya's nerves. “Before I address anything else with you, I need to ask this question. Do you and your bother get along?” Chrysanthe laughed. “Get along? We have a disagreeable relationship. I assume you would want to know the reason for this situation.” Tanya figured she had no choice but to listen. “If you wish for me to give me such private information. I’ll be happy to hear it.” Chrysanthe smirked. “Happy? Why should it make you happy?” She walked over to a specific sculpture. She slowly stroked its molded hair. It was the bust of a stunning woman of their kind. The sculpture's eyes held a piercing gaze. There was a magnificent crown atop her head. She looked a little like Chrysanthe. “This is a sculpture of my ancestor from 10 generations before me.” Chrysanthe stared back into its eyes. “She was the last female to rule this kingdom.” She turned to Tanya. “I should be the heir, as she was.” Chrysanthe slowly pulled away from the sculpture after running her fingers along its chin.

“I was destined to rule this kingdom. My fate was to be the same as hers.” Chrysanthe bit her finger and quickly withdrew it to her side. “However, my useless brother came into this world. Secretly, I wished he died in his youth. Then, I would have my proper place.” Tanya's brows knitted and her hand covered her gaping mouth. She felt Chrysanthe sorrow it stabbed her in the heart. “It is a true shame he has continued to live. My hopes and dreams have left me.” She gave a sarcastic laugh. Tanya took a few steps back. “I trained for years to become a competent ruler. I passed every examination." Chrysanthe reached into a desk drawer and looked over some papers smirking. "What result did I receive? A prodigy brother who could master in 50 years what took me 100!" She held up the paper to Tanya, who couldn't read it. "He is out of the realm of normalcy in a multitude of ways.” Chrysanthe calmed down and placed the papers back in the desk drawer. She folded her arms and looked at Tanya’s shocked expression. “Oh, you have never heard of fights for succession? They must be rare in your kingdom.” Tanya’s mind flashed to a certain movie about lions. “Might I ask you a question about your brother?” Chrysanthe shrugged. “Ask me any question you wish. I care not about the subject matter.” Tanya swallowed a breath. “Do you love your brother or care for him in any way?” Chrysanthe smirked then sighed. “Unfortunately, I do. He is foolish. Yet, I care for this fool. Dare I say, I actually love my younger brother.” She sat down gently at one of the desks. “This was my desk as a student.” She pointed to the one behind her. It was the home of those papers from earlier. “That was his.” She placed her hands on her lap and looked down at them. “I’m sorry you've had to deal with this,” Tanya's eyes welled up a bit. “I appreciate your sympathy. You should know I have not spoken of this with anyone before. Therefore, you may consider yourself very fortunate." She gazed into Tanya's eyes. "I feel some sort of kinship with you."

Nerine and Alyssa skipped along to a giant decorated long room. “This is the grand ballroom,” Nerine spun around and waved her arms. “This is where we hold balls and concerts with musicians of renown.” Nerine stood tall and proud. “I do not know if you are aware of this. My brother is the finest musician in this entire kingdom! He may be the finest in the entire world!” Alyssa giggled. “Yeah, his singing and music led us here.” Alyssa covered her mouth realizing she almost told the truth. “Oh!” Nerine eyes smiled along with her grin. “My enchanting brother is well-known outside our kingdom! True happiness overfills my heart!” She twirled around and hummed. Alyssa slowly realized this was the song Hyakinthos and Laurus played in the forest. “I know that song! Ya brother played that a lot, right?” Alyssa started twirling as Nerine hummed. “Yes! He composed this melody.” Nerine giggled while Alyssa twirled. She then slowly stopped humming. Alyssa gave a broad smile. “I would love to dance at one of ya balls. I would feel like a fairy-tale princess.” Nerine nodded. “I heard something about our people being in stories from the fairies. I find that fascinating." Her eyes glistened as she waved her arms. "Never mind that matter." Nerine spun around and cleared her throat. "I believe you would truly enjoy the events here. I desire you to stay long enjoy to enjoy it.”

A question had been itching on Alyssa's mind since she first met Nerine. “How come you're not stuck up like your sister or crazy cool like your brother?” Nerine tilted her head and placed a finger under her chin while looking up. “Well, the difference in our personalities derives from our ranks, I believe.” Alyssa nodded. Nerine held Alyssa's hands. “Allow me to explain it to you. My sister is the second in line to the throne. My brother is the first." Alyssa slowly nodded taking it in. "In all likelihood, I will never get the throne, nor do I care for it. I will never be the queen.” Nerine said with shining eyes and a big grin. Alyssa couldn’t tell if that was happiness or sorrow. “I get ya.” Alyssa smiled softly. Nerine smiled back. “I do not have the pressure placed upon me as they do.” Nerine laughed. “Therefore, I am free to do whatever I want. Like this!” Nerine released one of Alyssa’s hands and held the other tightly. She ran laps through the hall with Alyssa trying to keep up. “My brother and I did things such as this when I was a young girl. My mother and the servants severely scolded us." she leaned over and looked into Alyssa's eyes. "Now, I am free to do as I please.” Alyssa struggled to catch her breath. “That’s so cool! I like ya, Nerine. Ya look cool and act cool. You’re alright in my book.” Nerine hugged Alyssa. “I would love to be in your book! Is it your journal? Let us become good friends and allies. It would benefit both our kingdoms!” Alyssa smiled and nodded. “Yep! I would love to have ya visit my kingdom one day! I think ya would really like it!” Alyssa thought it was better to go with the flow. Acting like a real princess is the best way to do things.

“Now I have something to ask of you. Does each person in your family act as you do?” Alyssa grinned. “Nope, just me. My parents are down to earth and a little boring." She shrugged. "But, they love me, and I love them.” Nerine smiled. “Both of your parents love you?” “Yep.” Alyssa firmly nodded. “The king and the queen, also?” “Yep,” Alyssa nodded once again. Nerine began to cry softly. “Why are ya crying?” Nerine turned her face away from Alyssa and sat in a chair. She leaned over and looked at the floor. “There are times I feel as if my mother does not love me. She shows more affection to Chrysanthe. She has high expectations for me. She desires a perfect image of herself.” Nerine tried to stop her sobbing with deep breaths. “I am not that sort of princess, I fear. She has plans to marry me to someone of another kingdom. She wants to provide a strong future for me.” Alyssa came over to hug her. “She expects me to become a good bride. I feel I am too young to marry.” Alyssa pulled her up and sit her on a bench where they could sit together. “Just asking, how old are ya?” Nerine stopped crying and giggled. “How old do I look?” Alyssa paused. “For my folks, ya look bout 14 or 15.” Nerine let out a long, loud laugh. “That is a baby barely out of the womb. I am about 250. My birthday is coming soon. I do hope you will be here for the celebration!” Alyssa’s eyes opened wide. “Now I must ask, what is your age?” Nerine gave Alyssa a smug grin that reminded her of Hyakinthos. “Well, I’m in my twenties…” Alyssa turned to the side. Nerine laughed. “Wow! You humans age incredibly fast. You look far older than I appear.” Alyssa folded her arms. “Ya don’t have to rub it in like that.” Nerine smiled. “I meant no harm."

The princesses took Tanya and Alyssa to a small room to eat lunch. Tanya was quiet. Meanwhile, Alyssa grinned and laughed. “What’s wrong with ya, Tanya?” Tanya saw Alyssa as a breath of fresh air. She leaned over and whispered in her ear. “You know that movie about the lions; you know the one with the scar on his face?” “Oh, you mean the Lion…” Tanya looked at Chrysanthe who was already narrowing her eyes at her. “Yes, that’s the one. We have a situation like that going on here.” Alyssa shrugged. “Ah, you’re just overreacting as always.” Tanya grit her teeth. She felt Alyssa didn't understand the severity of the situation. “What are you two gossiping about during our meal? Is it something we all should know?” Chrysanthe said in an incredibly condescending voice. “I was just whispering that we don’t have delicious food like this back home.” Tanya smiled. “Is this true?” Nerine asked perking up. “Yes, Princess Nerine.” Tanya grinned. Chrysanthe cleared her throat. “I feel those are enough interruptions. Princesses, let us continue our meal in silence.”

Story%20ender.png

Read the next part here!

Written with StackEdit.

Sort:  

oh my, It took time to read through, i could sense you have great ability to string words together so as to pass on information.

This is captivating poem and i am in love with it, i look forward to see more of you, these because there is power in communication with the use of poems

Thank you very much! I'm happy you enjoyed it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61699.33
ETH 2887.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.47