Young and Beautiful (Short Story - 503 Words/Romance)

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

elderly-hospital-patient-1437289-1920x1440.jpg

His fingers traced the side of her face. Every line, every wrinkle, and each gray hair was a treasure to him. He didn't know how long they had left together, but he would cherish every minute. He watched her weary chest rise and fall with her labored breaths. How many times had he done this? He wondered how many more loves have to die while he lives on.

"Dad, how is Mom?" His oldest son walked into the room. What was once a young and vibrant little boy had aged into an old man overnight. At least, for his father, it seemed like a blink of an eye. He longed to repeat those days. "Well, it won't be long now. The doctors say she has a few days at best." "I'm not dead yet," the great-great-grandmother smiled. "Hey, sleepyhead, don't wear yourself out." He lovingly smiled at her. She gave her greetings to her son and held a good conversation with him. He watched her. This scene had played itself over so many times. He was so tired of this. She was going to be his last. The son left, and they were alone.

"So, who's your next wife?" She smiled at him. "There isn't going to be a next one." He sighed. She laughed and coughed. "I bet you've said that line before." He held her tight. “I don't want to think about such unpleasant things. I wish humans lived longer." She reached for his hand as he clasped hers in his. "Unfortunately, humans are finite. We live for a little while, then we die. I know human lifespans are nothing for you though. What was it, a few seconds for you?" He kissed her hand. "Don't talk like that. I've taken our life together moment by moment." She sighed and gave him a smile. "I wouldn't have lived this long if I hadn't been married to you, you know?" He nodded.

"It's okay to let me go. The next one will be an upgrade to me." He kissed her deeply. "I don't want to hear you talking about another woman. It's a turn-off you know." He wagged a finger at her. “She smiled, "Well, I'm glad you still love me even though I'm not young an beautiful like I used to be." "You're still beautiful, and you're much younger than me." He gently stroked her hair. "You always were a charming individual." She smiled at him and cuddled as close as she could. "I'm glad I got to be a memory in such a long life." "You know, sometimes, I wish I could die." She was surprised. "Why?" He gave a faint smile. "Then, I wouldn't have to go through this repeatedly. It could just be over." "I guess that's the downside to being immortal." "I don't want to talk about this right now. Let's just enjoy our time together. I love you, now and always." "I love you, too."

With those words, she closed her eyes for the final time.

Image Soucre

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61763.08
ETH 2899.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49