And I Will Fly Very high Like An Eagle

in #fiction5 years ago

FB_IMG_1552044249530.jpg

They say love is blind
Like the kind my parents had.
It was love that was pure
Even though they were poor.

In the sun my pregnant mum toiled
And in the rain, my dad ploughed .
Until the day I was born ,
They laboured until their strength was gone.

Daddy did not stay around for long
For he went to be with the Lord .
Mummy's sorrows knew no bound
As her lover was no where to be found.

So my life as a village boy began
Some days I am hungry and try not to be sad.
Momma says my little life is a story of God's grace
Because my heart is always warm and a smile never leaves my face.

I'm a little tot
Whose Hut is a haven for happy thoughts.
In it I think of what I want to become when I grow up .
And my beautiful thoughts make me keep my little head up.

I am going to be a big man that helps poor people .
And fly high like an eagle.
Today I fall but tomorrow I shall rise.
And my speed would be faster than even the fastest tide.

I heard that today's struggles are lessons for tomorrow.
And that my burdens are stories that Won't Leave the lips of those who hated momma cause she always borrowed.
For my latter shall be greater
Even greater than the former.

So my smile never leaves my face
And I love to dance just at my own small pace.
I know my skin is scarred from cuts and tear
And my clothes are torn but I don't care.

For I am going to be a big man that helps poor people
And I'll fly very high like an eagle.

Laura Ezinne Idika

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61113.33
ETH 2927.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69