A Piece of Me | Flash Fiction

in #fiction5 years ago

I think it may be becoming difficult for me to write shorter stories. I started this one as a hundred word story, and again, it went beyond that. My fingers are having way too much fun. Well, don't blame brain just yet. It's still taking a nap. LOL. Do enjoy.


photo-1527091330993-c33b51a8ccfa.jpg


I was fifteen when Papa died. That afternoon, I was out playing football with Obinna. It was a routine turned habit. We would go to school in the morning – which only happened because we had each other anyway, we both hated school. Whoever that woke first would show up behind the other’s house and whistle – go to the stream in the afternoon, play in the evening before heading to block rosary at night. Our parents' combined both tradition and Christianity. So you can adapt wherever we may find yourselves, they said. I never thought much about it. It was one of the things that never really bothered me.

I loved Obinna. He was the only person who accepted my strange personality. I was a lanky child with an awkward gait. The things other people found normal held no interest for me. I laughed when others cried. I also kept to myself. Everyone avoided me. Papa said I was special. Mama looked away whenever she saw me. There were rumours she carried me for eleven months and wouldn’t touch me after I was born.

But everything changed when I turned thirteen and had to be initiated into the youth’s otu ogbo for growing boys. That was how they found out. There were no secrets and I was so scared after the ceremony that I didn’t go home. When I eventually did, Papa wouldn’t look me in the face. I later learned he was summoned before the elders and whipped.

So when I came home and saw a crowd spitting and shaking their heads, I knew he had done it. It didn’t matter that no one would tell me what happened. I knew he killed himself. I’d seen it in his eyes for weeks now. I was strange after all. But then I was also relieved. No more sneaking into my room and pulling my shorts in the dark.


otu ogbo is an age grade, usually for people from one to five or six years apart in age. Boys get initiated when they become old enough to start taking responsibilities.

Tell me your thoughts.

Image Source

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by chinyerevivian from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hello chinyerevivian, welcome to Partiko, an amazing community for crypto lovers! Here, you will find cool people to connect with, and interesting articles to read!

You can also earn Partiko Points by engaging with people and bringing new people in. And you can convert them into crypto! How cool is that!

Hopefully you will have a lot of fun using Partiko! And never hesitate to reach out to me when you have questions!

Cheers,
crypto.talk
Creator of Partiko

Haha..... Idereya nke oma....... It's good... Especially those names😍😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99