My Name is Nancy, Contributed by @gbenga

in #fiction6 years ago

FoggyStreet.jpg
My name is Nancy. I have never thought of getting married to two husbands but here I am in the middle of nowhere, I really don't care anymore. Though getting married to one of my husbands was an accident, I was lonely and I needed a companion.

I have been happily married to the love of my life for five years now. My parents wouldn't dare refuse him because I was Daddy's pet and in fact the pride of the family; the only graduate from the university. I have two elder brothers, business and ideas were their sources of joy, they would do anything just for their only little-educated sister. I could remember few years back when John's wife (my immediate elder brother) was threatening me to sweep the house or else no food for me while I visited them for the holiday. I couldn't stand her blabbing, I immediately put a call through to my favourite brother Jude; this life is just too easy, he came a few hours later to drop me home. I can't just imagine me going through hardship when there were maids ready to volunteer.

Well, are her those days. I am matured and I definitely think like an adult now. I am 29 years old, married to nobody else but Kevin my first and only lover from the university, we won the best couple award during our undergraduate days.

Getting married to Kelvin was never a mistake. He is so caring and romantic but his mother won't just let us be! She complains I am lazy, to spice things up no child! I am not even bothered at all. She is nothing but an illiterate. So far as Kevin doesn't complain and his affection for me hasn't reduced I am fine.
One faithful morning while I and Honey were catching fun in the bedroom the doorbell rang. By 7:30 am on a Saturday morning? Who comes this early to visit us? Our visitors surely knows that was too early for us. The doorbell rang a third time! Irritating! A very rude and not patience guest, we hurriedly dressed and rushed downstairs.

Mama? Kevin called out, she gave a cocky smile and headed for the sitting room, she wouldn't just allow me to get out of shock. This woman is at it again! I rolled my eyes. Mama said she was tired of the village and needed the city breeze for a little while.

I dashed into the kitchen to make her tea and toast bread. Serving her, mama smiled at me and said: "thank you". I was surprised because that was unlike her; she would have shouted that I make her good soup. I turned and stared at Kevin, he was as surprised as I am. Impressed that my mother in law didn't come for her usual trouble I figured I should make her happy by going shopping and getting soup ingredients.

Little did I know that was my worst decision, I refused to take the driver, I was such in good spirit. After getting the groceries I headed home, just as I was about turning the T-junction a trailer from nowhere hit my car! Strrrrrah!

Ever since then I have been a ghost roaming the street; they say because maybe we felt betrayed by death or we still had things to accomplish on earth. I feel Kevin's mother had a hand in this ordeal, I only hope my roaming mission is to avenge my death! Oh, my Kevin he wouldn't just move on, it’s been 5 years now and yet he still lures for me. Don't hate me but I only pitied his condition, I appear to him at night just as if I am alive. We catch up with old times, he tells me his day troubles and we laugh about it. He dares not tell anyone or else I would never return.

My parents didn't find my death funny, they wept uncontrollably. I couldn't dare show my face, I didn't want to get them traumatized.

Life in the spirit world only got interesting at night when I am with Kevin. That wasn't just enough! I fell in love with another roaming spirit and we got married in our own way. I won't disclose his name but I think I love him too, he doesn't know about my earth husband neither did I tell Kevin. I love them both and need them in both realms.

Sometimes I really don't care but my conscience picks me, it wasn't my decision to live this way! Destiny! I am putting this question to us 'Who do I let go; my spirit husband or earth husband?'

Image is public domain

Sort:  

My name is Nancy. I'm elated because I know the author & finisher of this post @gbenga. Didn't know you were a fictioneer bro.

Pls let go of the both husbands and have your Peace. Perhaps you should marry Steemit instead. Lolx.

Go @Communitycoin!

Lol..yh... Ghost on steemit blockchain. She could even attend air-clinic and get solution to be able to navigate spirit realm and physical realm

hehehe i agree with youimages (1).png

I thought you're a bigamist till I read through :D haha

What a tragedic story. Sometimes death don't care about love when it strikes. I would advise you to remain with your spirit husband because you are dead already and there is no going back.

Came here for the photo, stayed because of the story.

If Nancy still lurks around, she might one day find her self in steemit. I wonder what she will have to tell us..

THE IMAGES BROUGHT THE STORY TO LIFE....LOVELY PIECE
HOPE OTHERS LEARN FROM THIS AS MUCH AS I HAVE

My name is Clumsy ... thank goodness we've got that social awkwardness out of the way.

Thank you for informing about it. Hope everyone will benefit from it. Thank you very much for this. To be becoming happy please let go of the both husband.
And also marry a person who can understand you.be patient @Communitycoin

I loved this whole page - you are so honest! lol am following you now and upvoted you too

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00