Chapter 4: Hide and Seek

in #fiction8 years ago (edited)

An Original Steemit Story

Chapter 4

Hide and Seek

Joshua walked over to one of the saloons and peered inside. It was empty, save for chairs and tables and a spotless chandelier that hung from the ceiling causing streams of rainbows to illuminate the wall.

A stairwell on either side led to a second story and Joshua surmised, based on the location of the stairs, that they led to rooms that looked out over main street. He climbed them and hesitantly opened the unlocked door, not knowing what he would find.

Joshua's intuitions about the rooms were correct. He walked into a corner room near the east stairwell and looked out the window that did not face the main street. A storage room jutted out of the main building below him, making for an easy escape, if he needed. The other window looked directly at the General Store. The room was decorated with plush pillows and a goose-down mattress.

"Ritzy," he thought. "Probably a whore's room. Easy to call out to the miners and townspeople walking along the main drag." Joshua searched the room and found a Bowie knife and a pair of throwing knives in the dresser drawer. "Better than nothing," he surmised. Although, not proficient with the knives, he somehow felt safer.

From the window, he could hear a vehicle approaching. Joshua positioned himself from a vantage point where he could see out the window, hiding himself behind the curtains. He could barely make out a black Sedan with tinted windows.

Now, all there was to do was wait to see who this supposed help was.

To be continued ...

Sort:  

i enjoyed so much, keep it the good work @complexring

Really liking the twists and turns leading to your to be continued..it makes it more exciting anticipating whats next:)

I just read 1-3 and then this. So suspenseful! I wonder whom he's going to meet up with...

It's getting better and better! I hope Chapter 5 comes soon, though no pressure - I'd wait for quality writing. :)

Talented writer! Keep it up im enjoying it

These have been great so far, thanks for all the amazing content... but I gotta admit I'm jealous - I put a heap of time into writing original fiction for steemit and never get any feedback, any advice for a novice?

My advice is to keep writing. I'm a novice, too. Mathematician by trade. Not so much a writer!

I have really been enjoying writing since joining steem, I have been trying to find the motivation to start for a while now and this platform has made it so easy - my only complaint is lack of interaction I am after some constructive criticism. Your writing is great for a mathematician lol, nah I'd say you've done well with writing so far keep up the good work.

I like your writing style. The chapters are bite-sized but pack a lot in a little space. Each one ends with suspense so you want to see what happens next!

One thing in this chapter...

The other room looked directly at the General Store.

"room" or should it be "window"? I'm thinking window but I could be mistaken. Looking forward to chapter 5!

Yes I noticed this as well and fixed it around the same time you commented.

giphyf1b00.gif

I love the twists and turn and it's building up more anticipatiton.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61663.08
ETH 2893.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48