Dance of Elements: Awakening - Chapter 12

in #fiction6 years ago

28a91ac28eb60ffa26e950449738df2c.jpg

The place where we arrived with the teacher Lucas was impressive. Deep mountain valley, with steep, impassable slopes, received the name - the gorge of tears. Its length was about two of three miles. A small and very clean mountain river ran through the center. Along its banks were placed statues of people dressed in robes. From a small height, a huge silhouette of a man with a long beard and a magical staff in his hands watched them, carved into a rock.

In the morning, when I woke up, my body was full of strength, because I managed to get a good night's sleep. But now, being here, I was seized by a depressing state. In this place, I did not feel connected with nature, almost everything around was made from stone and only a few trees, tried to survive, demonstrating to that life can exist in this dead corner. All these statues, even more burdened my soul, because these mages were real people who lived here before. Looking at them, you start to understand that life is not eternal, and you need to appreciate every second spent on Earth.

I turned to Master Lucas.

"Why did you choose this place for training? After all, as I understand, the memory of people who lived here is immortalized."

He did not immediately answer my question. His gaze was directed at the statue of a man, who, with his body closed a long-haired woman. His hands were clenched into fists, and his eyes were angry and determined.

"We train here to remember what we need strength for. All the people sealed in these statues, at different times, gave their lives for the tower of Waldorf and its adepts. Looking at them, we are trying to improve our techniques, understanding that the stronger we are, the more chances we have of protecting our home."

The Master took a deep breath and looked at me with a smile.

"Remember Daniel, what power is needed for!" And now we will begin our first lesson "with practical combat magic. Follow me."

We walked several hundred meters along the gorge and stopped on a small, in the form of a circle territory.

Master Lucas looked thoughtfully, far beyond the horizon.

"Daniel look around," he said calmly. "Everything that you see, one way or another, is connected with the element of water. After all, it is an integral part of all life. In order to use the full force of this element, you must understand the essence of its nature."

He looked at me carefully, as if checking whether I understood everything from his words. On the face of the master, there was a frightening grin.

"Come on and let’s swim a little."

It seemed to me a bad idea to swim in early spring when the sun was shining, but still, it was pretty cool. But I did not argue, completely trusting Lucas.

Repeating him, I cleverly threw off my clothes. Looking at the master, I was truly surprised. His whole body was adorned with deep scars, which indicate that in his life there were many serious battles. But I did not look at him for long, quickly moving my sight at the bubbling water.

The teacher gestured, so I followed him, into the clear waters of the river. Once inside it to our belts, we stopped, then the teacher said with a serious voice:

"Imagine that you are an element of water. Feel fluidity, coolness, refreshing moisture of water. Dive into it with your head. Experience water in all its different aspects. And see what water element truly is."

On our first encounter, I promised that I would listen to all the instructions of my master. Therefore, I had no choice, and I plunged into the cold water.

Having stayed under it for a couple of minutes, I was panic-stricken, and I could not think of anything, except for a breath of air. I tried to come up, but it did not work, my body, something kept it. The face of Master Lucas, distorted, looked through the water. I could clearly see how brightly shone his amulets. I tried to scream for help, but I only took water into my lungs. Before my eyes, everything began to darken, as it was on my first appearance in the Waldorf tower.

At the moment when I had already stopped fighting and was about to die, before my eyes, I saw a silhouette of a woman whose face I could not see.

"Do not be afraid, Daniel. The elements will not harm you."

This voice, I heard it before in a dream.

"Mother!" I cried out almost unconsciously.

My hand reached out to the silhouette, but it instantly dissipated in the clear waters of river.

Suddenly I realized what it means to merge with the elements. Then, I managed to instantly take panic under my control. I imaged that every part of my body breathes with water, I managed to receive oxygen directly from the river. It became easy and pleasant to be in the water. The next time I tried to come up, I did it well.

"It's amazing, you understood this with your first time!" Exclaimed the master.

I looked at him inquiringly.

"Have you seen a woman in the water?!"

"No, there was no one."

"But she was there! I definitely saw her."

"Do not worry, Daniel, you lasted ten minutes without air. Hallucinations are normal at oxygen starvation."

Despite his words, I knew for sure that she was real. This woman was my mother. Why could not I see her face? The sixth feeling told me that it was necessary to continue training and the memory would finally return.


Chapter 1
Chapter 2
Chapter 3
Chapter 4
Chapter 5
Chapter 6
Chapter 7
Chapter 8
Chapter 9
Chapter 10
Chapter 11


To be continued...

Thank you for reading!

Sort:  

Fantastic writing. I started, then realized there were chapters! I am going to start at the beginning. I'm a new member and enjoy reading. This is the content steemit needs, thank you.

Thank you a lot! I'm always happy to see new readers and followers!

Congratulations @crosswell, this post is the sixth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 2275 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $968.87. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99