While Men SleptsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction6 years ago

While men slept, the enemy came if only they were here to sow tars in our farm of wheat but no, not this time. They surrounded our house as they came for our lives, what did we do you wonder, the only wrong we have done is refuse to bow to injustice.

Hello, My name is Damian and this is my story... I am a 23 yrs old graduate from a university in the southern part of Nigeria and as is customary, after graduating we go for a mandatory service to our nation.

unnamed (2).jpgSource

I remember the feeling of anxiety I felt when I heard that we've been called up to serve and when I checked, I saw that I was posted to the north, I remember how depressed I felt as this was not my wish.

I wasn't just posted to the north but I was posted to Benue, a state that was always in the news lately and it was never good news. But anyway what could I do, after much reluctance I decided to just go and get it over with.

I went to camp and to my greatest surprise I enjoyed myself, it was a truly fun experience and I was glad I didn't miss it. I made friends and after camp came the service proper, we (myself and Chima) were sent to the same town to serve as teachers.

The villagers were happy to see us, it was a small village and the corpers lodge was situated in the village chiefs compound, It indeed was nice. The chief Mr. Ekundo was very nice and the he made our stay enjoyable.

Three months into our service, there came a day when bandits stormed the village and met with Mr. Ekunbo, they demanded that the villagers pay them money or they would destroy their farmlands and kill them as well but Mr. Ekunbo refused their request, so they left vowing to come back another day.

After that encounter the village reached out to the government and explained the situation, hoping for help to come at that time we were scared but we were assured by The Chief that we had nothing to fear and that the government was on their way to our aide.

A week passed and still there was no word from the government but thankfully the bandits didn't return, after that more weeks passed and everyone relaxed their guard.

images (27).jpegSource

Precisely three months later, it was on a Sunday night, while we were all sleeping... We woke up to sudden screams of terror and gunshots, we knew what was happening it was the bandits, they had come to make good on their promise.

If only the government had acted in time, we wouldn't be in this situation but alas here we are,The village chief, a just and Nobel man through and through. They have come for him, indeed they have come for us all, no one is safe from their tyranny and rampage, I can only cry that the lord is merciful and I die quickly.

Sort:  

Wow
Such beautiful piece.
You're such a terrific writer Dawizy

Next please 😂😂😂

Awwn! Thanks for the kind words, they mean a lot coming from you.

Lolss
That a sad ending.
I hope you wont die.

Nice story

I too would like to know, if he died or didn't!

thanks for your comment

CONGRATULATIONS....

YOUR AWESOME POST WAS SELCECTED IN THE @wafrica DAILY CURATION

COURTESY: @julietisrael

Nice Job. 👍

Another dying story? You must finish this one in a happy ending.

I enjoyed it.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Lol, I left it so you'll write your own ending.

Thanks for your comment

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

This post received an upvote from #airhawk-project as a result of presentation and review on airhawk discord server during Shout-out Your Post Curation Show on Monday Night.

Invite your friends via this link https://discord.gg/RwCCUNJ tag: airhawk-project

Interesting story, one from a budding writer.

thanks for the compliment.

Congratulations @dawizy! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63900.26
ETH 3063.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.21