The Goddess ... (a part of the series called "stories from the east" by @dev)

in #fiction8 years ago (edited)

To observe is a fun activity. The large window overlooking the nearby park was like a movie screen. A documentary called “an evening in Mumbai” was playing. I had quite a view from my comfortable seat.

The street lights painted a nice yellow color. There were too many activities to watch. The street was busy and park was full. Full of people who were happy. Or they seemed to be.

Happiness is a complex emotion. Just like a dog chasing a vehicle. If the vehicle stops, the dog will not know what to do. He gets confused. Then he sets a new target. Humans too show a similar behavior in their pursuit of happiness.

They say “laughter is the best medicine”. One corner of the park was occupied by a group of oldies. They were getting worked up for their “laughter sessions”. Eagerly waiting with army parade like formation, the group faced their leader. The leader addressed these old but young at heart individuals. Then he raised both his hands up and laughed out loud. The group aped its leader. Their laughter was thunderous, artificial and devoid of any humor. After a minute they stopped. Only to repeat the process after five minutes. Business as usual.

The street was filled with people walking hurriedly. Most of them just got released from their paid confinement. They were in hurry to reach their small world called home. Hawkers on the street obstructed their movement. Determined to sell them stuff. Stuff they don't need. Stuff they do.

Near the park entrance, a blind beggar had occupied a prime space. He cried for alms in the name of god. His voice was diluted by the chaos of evening street life.

Children of various sizes were the main attraction of the park. Where do they derive their energy from? Always excited. For them life was a play. They played. Some in groups. Some preferred to be by themselves. They could find humor in silliest of things. Their happiness was infectious. Without any joke they laughed. Their laughter was pure and natural. Maybe they could teach a thing or two to the nearby laughter club.

My eyes found a woman on one of the park seat. It was on the far end of the park. A little far to observe closely. My trained male eyes were confident that she was beautiful. I could feel her uneasiness. She would stand up and walk around the seat. Then she sat down. She was not ready to settle down. Something was wrong.

The crowd on the street dispersed. The hawkers gathered their stuff. The shops were closing down. The number of people in the park was a single digit. The chaos was replaced by silence.

The meek cry of the beggar now sounded like a firm demand.

The woman decided to leave the park. She crossed the beggar. I could see a piece of paper between her fingers. She handed it to the beggar. The beggar was trying to understand the paper with his sense of touch.
I decided to check it out. I ran for the door.

I could see the beggar feeling the bill of one thousand rupees. I informed the beggar that he is rich by a thousand rupees. He could not suppress his happiness.

I was surprised with this level of charity. I tried to catch the women with my eyes. She was around 50 meters away, walking towards her destination. I followed her against my will. My mind revolted against this decision to be a stalker. My heart could not suppress the curiosity. The decision was final.

I maintained a good distance to avoid any suspicion. She took a left at a three-way. I increased my speed to catch up. She entered a colony which I was not familiar with. I was hesitant. I ended up in the colony. She entered a small building. I marked the address in my memory. It was late in the evening. It would not be appropriate to ask for an interview at this time.

I could not get a good sleep. I had to find out who she was. She did not seem to be rich. Her attire was ordinary. I could not believe that a person like her could not use money. My mind was not ready to leave this matter. I had to find out who this person was.

I got ready in the morning. I left for this mini adventure. Standing opposite to the door of the building I was hesitant to knock. I observed. The building was old. I read the name. It was a home for the aged.

I knocked on the door. I found the woman I saw last evening on the other side of the door. Her eyes inquiring my reason for this visit.

I could see the interior of the house was not fancy. Everything was ordinary. She was ordinary. I said that I saw her giving thousand rupees to the beggar last night.

“Oh! That. I found the money on the ground in the park. I did not know whose it was. I thought, what would I do with that money? It was not mine. I gave it to the blind man. He needed it more than me.”

I smiled. I apologized for the inconvenience.

I bowed in front of the goddess and took my leave.

P.S. - This piece is a bit inspired by a short story by Munshi Premchand (one of the best writers of Hindi literature).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62423.21
ETH 2897.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56