Fireflies: Pupa (book 2, entry 17) - A Bit Behind the Curtain

in #fiction5 years ago (edited)








If you missed the first book - Fireflies - you might want to start there. It's here in its completion, written for Steemit. If you enjoy it, feel free to ask to be added to the subscriber list for the sequel, where new chapters are being released daily.

FIREFLIES (book 1) Chapters

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19

20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 Epilogue

FIREFLIES: Pupa

(book 2)

Entry 17

"So you've never had a boyfriend? Ever?"

She shook her head in response, a half-smile tugging the left side of her face into a smirk.

"Never?! I don't believe it."

"Believe it."

"Why?"

"Why what?"

"I just never met a girl who didn't want to be in a relationship before."

"I've had two interesting relationships. I wouldn't call them boyfriends."

"Ah, okay. Now, we're getting somewhere. So fess up! What were they like? What's your type?"

Her gaze stayed focused on the trail ahead, unwavering. She pondered it for a moment. She had already decided to let her guard down, and it wasn't like this one boy was going to make a difference in her plans after she left Georgia. She shrugged slightly and continued, slightly coy.

"Hm. Well, one was very much like me. Easy to talk to but introspective, quick to laugh and tease - "

"You?!?"

She stopped talking and glared at him.

"Sorry. Continue."

"Yes. Me. I used to be a little different than I am now." The smile faded from her face and he regretted interrupting. Waiting a few moments for her to collect herself, he gently encouraged her.

"I could actually see that. You, laughing a lot - I mean. You have a killer smile." He waggled his eyebrows at her in an exaggerated display.

She gritted her teeth, trying to hold back the smile that was forming, but accepted the unspoken apology and continued.

"He was kind and unbelievably patient - those characteristics are actually NOT like me." They both laughed. "But we both loved to create, and we invested everything we were into our art."

"Art, huh? What kind?"

"Um... a little like sculpting with a touch of biochemical engineering, physics, painting and design?"

"Ha! Sure. So you'd rather not say. Ok, and what about the other guy?"

Storm clouds gathered behind her eyes. All the warmth that had been glowing in her face just moments ago was quickly replaced by a frosty, untouchable veneer. He was about to change the subject with another question when she spoke.

"He was rich, powerful, handsome and tried to give me everything he thought I wanted. He assumed he knew me better than I knew myself."

Caleb paused before answering, attempting to lighten the mood.

"Heh...too bad you couldn't combine their best qualities into one man."

If she heard him, she didn't acknowledge it in any way. He cleared his throat and allowed his curiosity to pull him dangerously close to shutting her down.

"So what happened to them?"

"I lost the one."

"Oh." He wasn't sure if that was metaphorical but this conversation was not at all what he had expected. He quickly asked, "And the other?"

She faced him for a few, long moments, unblinking.

"Let's just say- when I left, it tore him to pieces."




There are a lot of posts on Steemit, thanks for making this be on your list!


A few friends that asked to be notified of the next chapter

If you'd like to be added, I'd be honored.

These are the subscribers/readers that had either asked to be added to the subscribe list for the first book or joined in after it was published. I've only added you onto this list - just to make you aware that the sequel is coming out. Simply let me know in DM or as a comment that you'd like to be removed, and I'll do it immediately.

@enginewitty @andysantics48 @monchhichi23 @scuzzy @happysmileyman @freedomtowrite @kiwideb @countrygirl @creatr @creed221 @quirky.countess @coachjj @notconvinced @bethalea @saffisara @zen-art @youngboss @silversaver888 @cecicastor @penderis @tamala @swolesome @hazem91 @kchitrah @arthur.grafo @bluefinstudios @snook @yidneth @joelithic33 @ydraz @ancapbarbie @eaglespirit @eveningart @dreemit @misslasvegas @chireerocks @chinyerevivian @kaerpediem @dkkarolien @jamerussell @priyanarc

Thank you to @penderis for making my beautiful dreemgirl divider :)

Font used in this post

Sort:  

"Let's just say- when I left, it tore him to pieces."

is there an Evil Laugh emoji?
We are starting to see the influence of her time with Derek.
Her character is really changing.

It is....and it kinda makes me sad!

But...I know it's necessary.

Sometimes you have to sit back and watch and let.it happen 😔

BTW, evil laugh 😈

Posted using Partiko Android

it also sets up another tension point...
Will she beat the Derek within her?

Hmmm that's one way to look at it.

But there is still the very real Derek to beat. Hehhee

but you're definitely inside my mind

Posted using Partiko Android

🎁 Hi @bluefinstudios! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dreemsteem!

@dreemsteem wrote lately about: Fireflies: Pupa (Book 2, Entry 18) - Dual Queendoms Feel free to follow @dreemsteem if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

I'm here! 🙋‍♀️

Posted using Partiko Android

Hehhehee all caught up? Lol

😬🤫 @dreemsteem trying my best.. 😂 I'm the self appointed coffee meetup arranger and party of one for newcomers to the island that approach me for advice so this last week was hectic. Today too. Hope to catch up tomorrow with all my stuff. Just answering some comments now omw. 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Hehehe I've been crazy busy too!!! No worries!! Our Monkee trip is this week!! So I'll be in and out of steem! Don't think I've forgotten you if I'm a little quiet... Just this week will be nuts!!! Hehe 😆 !tip

Posted using Partiko Android

🎁 Hi @dkkarolien! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dreemsteem!

@dreemsteem wrote lately about: My Wiggle Is Official! ♨️😜 #Steemclan Is The Best!!! Feel free to follow @dreemsteem if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

@dreemsteem, In my opinion there is no bigger Art than communication and sometimes we experience communications which boosts our Bio Chemical Emotions. 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Hehehhehee !!!!! Yes!!!!! It's true in life and CERTAINLY true in Fireflies.

There was no greater connection than Bryd and Talia 😊 They had the most special communication there is!!! ❤️

Posted using Partiko Android

Ha ha..... That's true. Keep bringing the emotions. Stay blessed.

🎁 Hi @chireerocks! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dreemsteem!

@dreemsteem wrote lately about: Fireflies: Pupa (Book 2, Entry 17) - A Bit Behind The Curtain Feel free to follow @dreemsteem if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Most excellent I'm beyond intrigued by my completely out of context immersion into the firefly world. Georgia eh ? I'm an ol Tennessee Jed that's found his way to Malaysia somehow-someway..

I'll try to catch up asap..pleased to have crossed paths!

Posted using Partiko Android

Ahhhhh the different Georgia. Hehhehee the one below Russia heheh

This is an actual trip I want to take one day... And the basis for this part of the story. Hehe

https://www.wildfrontierstravel.com/en_US/destination/georgia/group-tours/master/2000059/georgia-ride-the-caucasus-horse-trek

Also ... If you have time to catch up... You'll see that the last line of this chapter has an alternate meaning 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Very interesting and macabre lol.

Thats definitely a very different Georgia from the one I grew up next to😁

Looks gorgeous though,someday surely you’ll get there !

Posted using Partiko iOS

🎁 Hi @skramatters! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dreemsteem!

@dreemsteem wrote lately about: Making Monkees: Dying Laughing May 31, 2019 Feel free to follow @dreemsteem if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

I don't have access to steemit (on my iphone) when traveling. I don't want to miss out! But I can always catch up when I get to a computer. I will be missing a couple of days... bummer!!!

Yes!!!! Just a few days and then you can binge on FIREFLIES!!!! Hehehhe

Can't wait til you catch up cuz the next few chapters are...... 😬😬😬😬🤯

Posted using Partiko Android

🎁 Hi @silversaver888! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dreemsteem!

@dreemsteem wrote lately about: Fireflies: Pupa (Book 2, Entry 16) - Vendetta Feel free to follow @dreemsteem if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Bwahahahaha 'Aria' got to be laughing. That was a killer reply🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

Killer reply? Hehehhee so punny!!! 😜

Posted using Partiko Android

🎁 Hi @enginewitty! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dreemsteem!

@dreemsteem wrote lately about: Fireflies: Pupa (Book 2, Entry 16) - Vendetta Feel free to follow @dreemsteem if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Oh Talia... okay... is she going to turn scary and turn all three men into one? Eeeek!

Posted using Partiko Android

Three?? hmmmm I don't think she'd go THAT far. 😏

Posted using Partiko Android

There's no telling what this nut might do!!!!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Lololol well I just said THREE was a bit much. 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

MmmHmmmm?!?! I'll believe that when I read it!

Posted using Partiko Android

Lolololololololololol

Posted using Partiko Android

At this rate, I'm going to he rich 😂 Thanks Dreem xxx

Posted using Partiko Android

Hehehe welkies... Tipping good comments in fireflies is my new obsession hehe

Posted using Partiko Android

🎁 Hi @eveningart! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dreemsteem!

@dreemsteem wrote lately about: Making Monkees: Unboxing Surprise Gifts!!! June 2, 2019 Feel free to follow @dreemsteem if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Very chatty cathy but luckily Caleb is keeping her focused on revenge, now to crush those pieces.

Hahahhaa but i loved that last line!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60625.76
ETH 2898.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62