The imaginary friend- Chapter 7

in #fiction6 years ago

                 

                 Image source

Sandy had a long talk with the two boys when they arrived at their apartment. They felt safe and at ease when she finally dished up for them and they sat with the adults in the kitchen to eat their dinner. Claudia was too upset to eat, and just picked at her food. 

Once the boys were done eating Sandy put them in a bath full of bubbles and went to look for some pajamas for David to sleep in. David and Billy was roughly the same size so it was not too difficult. She left the clothes in the bathroom and went back to the kitchen where Claudia was waiting.

"Thank you Sandy...this is really not how I imagined this night to end."

"Don't worry about it Claudia. I'm glad to help."

Sandy poured the last wine in the bottle into Claudia's glass and said:

"You need this more than I do."

Once the boys were both in bed and sleeping, Sandy found Claudia in the living room with her laptop. 

"Did you find anything?"

Claudia shook her head. 

"Do you believe in evil spirits"?

"Well, not so much. I am more of a scientific person, but what I saw tonight made me shiver. If I did not see that book flying across the room, I would never have believed it." 

"Me neither, but I hear you...it was terrifying, and it seemed very real to me."

"Let's just forget about it for the rest of the night. Tomorrow is your first day at work, and I'm sure you want to be rested."

Claudia nodded and followed Sandy to the guest bedroom. 

"You'll find everything you need in here. Perhaps you need a long relaxing bath before bed?"

Claudia decided to follow Sandy's advice and opened the taps to the bath. While she lay in bath, she thought about the unexplainable things that happened over the last two days.  She shuddered to think about the invisible entity living in their apartment. She really thought that it was the perfect place for her and David and now the only thing she could think of was to move again. 

She finally fell asleep and woke up just after six the next morning. She slept like a log. She immediately thought about what happened the previous night and it felt like a distant memory playing off in her head. 

She could hear the boys in the kitchen and was just about to get up when Sandy knocked on the door. 

"Good morning. I made you some coffee." She handed her the cup and took a seat on the bed next to Claudia.

"I don't mind you staying another night. The boys are good together, and we get along great. I'll drop the kids at school and you get yourself ready for work now."

Claudia just nodded and took a sip of her coffee. 

"I think I have to move out, I just have no idea where to find another apartment on such short notice."

''Let's talk about it later tonight. There is a spare key in the kitchen that you can use."

Claudia sat in bed sipping her coffee while she heard the door close behind them. It was totally quiet in the apartment. She had to get up and get ready for work, but the excitement was gone. Although she slept well, she still had a fear in her that she couldn't describe. 

She took a quick shower and got dressed. She looked quite professional after she put on a little make-up and tied her hair in a bun on her head. She was just about to lock the door when she realized that she had forgotten the files from the office at her apartment. 

She knew she had to fetch the files, but decided against going to her apartment alone. She would have to ask one of the men to go with her. They would probably think she was crazy, because who on earth would be scared to go into their own apartment, but she didn't care. They could think whatever they wanted, but there was no way that she was going alone. 

Everyone was very welcoming at the office and she was called through to Mr Vorster's office. He gave her a few files to work on, and she went to sit at her desk. Sylvia a co-worker introduced herself, and asked for the files she took the previous day. 

"Oh gosh, I forgot them at home this morning.  I'll go fetch them during my lunchtime." Claudia said nervously.

Sylvia smiled. "No problem. I can drive you if you want?" 

"No it's fine thanks. I actually stay very close...just two blocks from here in the old Bannister apartments" 

"The Bannister apartments....oh my...I hope you are not superstitious?" Sylvia said and laughed. 

Claudia looked shocked. 

"What do you mean by superstitious?" 

"There's been a story going around for many years that the old Bannister building was haunted."

"Oh my..." was all that Claudia said and Sylvia could see that Claudia was rattled. 

"I didn't mean to startle you. It's just that the story has been going around for so long and I thought you knew about it.... but I'm sure it's only a story."

Claudia smiled vaguely.  "Don't worry about it. Do you still want to come with me during lunch?"

"For sure...I'll see you at one."    

- To be continued -

Chapter 1 

Chapter 2 

Chapter 3 

Chapter 4 

Chapter 5 

Chapter 6 

 Animated Banner Created By @zord189 

 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64161.84
ETH 2950.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60