Challenge #02457-F267: One LinksteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction5 years ago

canstockphoto19978216.jpg

I am not determined to be incompetent. I just want to feel safe. -- Anon Guest

Marvin nursed his arm, which he was told was only a sprain. He could only see out of one eye because his friends and allies in the Malitovs had given him one heck of a shiner for mucking up the capture of the wizard and their pet Kobold. Now, to prove his worth to his gang, he had to guard them. The wizard was bound and gagged, but the Kobold was just bound. Not a threat, they said. Something even an idiot like him could accomplish, they said.

All he had to do was stick them with the pointy end if they tried to escape. Just stand - because he'd fall asleep if he sat down - and watch them and don't let them out of his sight. Whatever they had done to his leg could certainly keep him uncomfortable enough to stay awake after a long, long day.

The Kobold was looking at him funny. Almost like it was... more intelligent than Kobolds were supposed to be. "You were watching the inn, last night," it said. "That was close to midnight... How long have you been awake?"

"Uuuhhh..." Well, they didn't tell him not to talk. "Since yesterday morning, I think? I dunno. I go to sleep when they tell me. If they catch me being a lazy asshole, they hit me some more."

"They hit you a lot, don't they?" said the Kobold. "Every day, by the looks of it."

Marvin was about to deny it, but... he couldn't remember the last time they forgot to hit him over something. "So what? I'm real dumb. I deserve it."

"So... they punish you for your mistakes," said the Kobold. "Does it help you learn how to be better?"

Marvin didn't even have to think. "I don't think so. Nobody's said. They call me bad things, and they say I'm 'determined to be incompetent' all the time." He heaved a sigh. "I'm not determined to be incompetent. I just want to feel safe."

"We could help you," said the Kobold. "My name's Anthe, and this is the wizard Wraithvine. They helped me learn to be better than I was. I want to pay that favour forward."

"To me?" said Marvin. "Why?"

"Because I know what suffering looks like, and it's something I can fix."

"Okay," he said, "but... how do you plan on doing that? You're just a wizard's familiar."

"Actually," said Anthe, wriggling free of its bonds and slipping between the bars. "I'm a Rogue. If you give me the keys, we can get you out of here."

The Malitovs were going to curse him for his sudden and inevitable betrayal, but Anthe was kind enough to ask for things and let him make choices. Even a bad choice was better than no choice. "Okay," he said, and handed over the keys. "I get the feeling I couldn't have stopped you anyway."

[Image (c) Can Stock Photo / demarcomedia]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me. Or share them with your friends!

Send me a prompt [38 remaining prompts!]

Support me on Patreon / Buy me a Ko-fi

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

Sort:  

I hope that now he will truly feel safe.. I'm glad that someone who wanted to pay forward found him and wanted to teach him was he was taught as well..

Nice story! Thank you for sharing and congratulations on your curie vote!

Hello! A pleasure:) x

This moved me in a certain way and it reflects how life is with the selfish and heartless people, it gives me that feeling that people want to detach you for being special but someone will always come to help you live better

Greetings from Venezuela

I've seen your other posts of poor Marvin. How Wraithvine had to teach him that it was ok to sleep at night without being told to, because the poor kid was terrified of even sleeping. And how Anthe and Wraithvine had to help him realize he wasn't just an idiot and they were not going to let people abuse him anymore.

ehy dear @internutter, interesting story, with a decidedly psychological cut. Is it part of a longer story? the fact of not seeing alternatives to our situations, thinking of not having choices: this is what puts us in a cage, that keeps us prisoners in fear and without hope. luckily for marvin someone showed him that something different is possible !! Keep on and congratulations on your curie rating

Hi @internutter. Interesting outcome of the story. I don't expect it, a wizard, a rogue, an escapist! Congratulations you surprised me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99