Flash Fiction - TessasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction6 years ago

Here’s a little piece of flash fiction I wrote. It’s probably one of my favorites. I hope you enjoy it.

Tessa

“One hundred.” Tessa dragged the brush through her hair.

Her mother rubbed Tessa’s hair between her fingers. “Perfect.” She kissed Tessa on the top of the head and walked out of the bathroom.

Tessa went to her room and examined the outfit laid out for her. It was stiff and ugly. She was not putting that on. She went to her closet and pulled out her mother's favorite dress.

Six months ago, when the dress was still a little big on her, Tessa had forgotten to change after church and had jumped on her big wheel tricycle. She didn’t notice her dress dragging on the ground and halfway down the street, the hem caught under her back tire and she crashed. She limped home, bawling and bloodied, dress torn and dirty.

Her mother mended the dress and Tessa had worn it a few times since.

“You look lovely, darling.” Her mother always told her that when she wore this dress, even though it was no longer perfect.

“Do you think Daddy will be mad that I'm not wearing the one he put out for me?” Tessa didn't want to upset her father.

“I think he’ll understand, dear.”

Tessa spent some time in her room lining up her stuffed animals on her bed.

Philip popped his head in. “Is that the dress dad wanted you to wear?”

“Yes.” She kept her eyes on the small purple elephant she was playing with. Mr. Trunk was deep in conversation with Ms. Pocket, the green kangaroo, about the best skittle flavor.

Philip squinted at her in disbelief. “Are you sure? He picked this out for me.” He walked into Tessa's room, revealing his sharp, navy blue suit with a black tie and shiny black shoes.

“This is mommy’s favorite dress.” Pausing in her play, she didn’t look up.

“I know, but you need to wear what Dad left out for you,Tessa.”

“Mommy said I could wear it.” Tessa turned back to her animals. Philip stood looking at her for a few moments before walking back out. She heard his footsteps echo down the stairs and into the kitchen below.

A few minutes later, her father came up and laid on the bed next to the stuffed animals. He had on a suit exactly like her brother’s.

“You and Philip look like penguins.” She told him. He chuckled.

“Mommy does love this dress on you. Don't you think she'd love the new dress on you, too?”

“She said I could wear this. Ask her.”

Her father coughed and she looked at him. He looked old and tired today. His eyes were puffy and red, with dark circles around them.

“Okay, honey. Are you hungry?”

“No, I just want to play with my toys.”

“That’s just fine. You have about half an hour till we leave.”

“Okay, Daddy.” She leaned over and squeezed him. He kissed her on the head, and went back downstairs.

Her mother sat down on the bed next to her and picked up the blue monkey. “Yellow skittles are definitely the best.”

“No way, Mr. Bananas! Red skittles taste better!” Mr. Trunk retorted.

“Uh-uh. Grape. Grape all the way,” Ms. Pocket chimed in.

When the argument about skittles was concluded, a vigorous debate about the merits of learning to tie your own shoes ensued. Mr. Bananas insisted that it was a skill every four-year-old must learn before starting kindergarten. The elephant and kangaroo didn't see the point. They had never owned shoes with laces and never wanted to.

“Tessa! It's time to go, honey!” At her father's call, Tessa jumped up and ran down the stairs.

A big black car was waiting in front of their house. Mommy was already waiting in it. They would follow behind in Uncle Stan’s car. Tessa could see him waiting out there, too.

Her father helped her put on her coat and double-checked that Philip hadn’t spilled food on his suit. He took them both by the hand and walked out to the waiting cars.

Uncle Stan greeted them with hugs. Tessa had never seen daddy and Uncle Stan hug before. Normally, they shook hands. She giggled a little behind her hand. Uncle Stan opened the door and she hopped in. Philip walked around the car to get in the other side.

Her mother sat between Philip and her, holding her hand for the entire ride. They shared a few whispered “I love you”s and Mommy told her a funny story about Stanley's hair when he was little.

“You see that back part there, where its bald and shiny? That used to be covered in hair that stood straight up. Your grandma used to put so much wax in it to make it lay straight for school.”

“What's so funny back there?” Uncle Stan was looking at her in the mirror.

“Your head is shiny.” Tessa couldn't help herself. She burst into giggles and her brother broke his seriousness to join her for a second. The two men in the front smirked at each other sideways and went back to their own conversation.

It wasn't a long ride to the church, but the next two hours dragged on, filled with people talking and then hugging when they finally went back outside. Tessa wasn't really interested in all of that. She was busy making stories in her head about the people in the stained glass windows. The man always looked so sad. She wanted him to have a happy ending.

Then they got back in the car.

“You are such a strong, brave girl, Tessa.” Her mother held her hand again. Tessa looked up into her eyes. “I can't stay with you much longer, but can you do something for me, honey?”

“What, Mommy?”

“Take care of your father and Philip. They need you right now and will need you more in the future. You're their girl.”

“I know, Mommy.” Tessa kissed her mother's arm.

Philip looked at her quizzically. Tessa smiled and grabbed his hand.

“You ready, Tessa?” Philip asked her as they pulled in.

They stepped out into the dazzling sunlight and Daddy led them to a stone with writing on it.

Gail Stevens
January 12, 1980 - May 16, 2016
Mother, wife and dear friend.
Gone from home,
But not from our hearts.

“G-A-I-L. Is that how you spell mommy?” Tessa asked Philip as they sat down in the first row.

“Mommy's real name was Gail. That is how you spell Gail.” He whispered, bringing Tessa onto his lap.

“I know that.” Tessa looked around and found her mother standing against a tree behind all the people. She waved at Tessa and blew her a kiss. Tessa waved back as her mother turned around and walked away.

Sort:  

Oh I did not expect that ending. Very well played. Good job!

Thank you! Check out the other two stories I have posted! They both have twists...

My! That was brilliant. That was beautiful. That was sad. That was everything. No one saw that coming. Just no one. I want to write like you. I want to have Tessa's mind too. No hypes: this is one of the best fiction I have read in a long long time. I follow you! <3

Thank you! That is sooooo flattering! This is definitely one of my favorite stories that I have written... Did you read my other two stories that I’ve posted?

This was really wonderfully done. So much light in all the sadness. Great piece. Truly.

Thank you! Would love to hear what you think of the other stories I posted!

I'll take a look. In the meanwhile, I think you'd find Isle of Write on Discord an awesome place to hang with other writers. We even have a fiction workshop and such :-) Drop by and say hello. We're an easy bunch to get along with, just there to help each other get better: https://discord.gg/TPh9dHM

@jadegreene

I had to read the this Tessa story again. It really moved me. It is so beautiful I am still in awe. Such a short beautiful story. From a writer and a poet like me. Hats off to you once again.

I love Tessa so much.

Thank you

No thank YOU! It means a lot that this story is so well liked!

I uploaded the link on my Facebook and twitter page.... the world needs to read this.

Beautiful whimsical story @jadegreen, sad but also comforting in a way...found you through @misterakpan :)

I’m glad you enjoyed it! And I’m eternally grateful to @misterakpan for his post! And everyone else who has resteemed and blogged about this story! Thank you!!

No no, I'm not crying. Not in the least. Just you know...something in my eye. sniffs

That was beautifully done, @jadegreene

Don’t cry!!! If you liked this one, you should check out the other two I posted! Start here:
https://steemit.com/story/@jadegreene/short-fiction-surviving

I'll definitely check them out!

Good post, I am a photographer, it passes for my blog and sees my content, I hope that it should be of your taste :D greetings

A lovely read, I liked all the characters which was refreshing. The father/daughter relationship hit home nicely.

Amazing writing, you have my follow, and upvote ofc :)

Thank you for reading!!! You should check out the other two stories I posted! The link to one of them is above and here’s the other one:
https://steemit.com/fiction/@jadegreene/short-story-the-waiting-game

Hello! I am Akpan, and I work with a renowned curation guild in this community. Your post got featured in my weekly Curator Remark Anthology and I thought you might want to check out why I picked your post among the hundreds I go through on an average week.

If you appreciate my work, you may want to resteem it. Yeah, I am human, not a bot ;-)

Wow! Thank you Akpan. I am hugely grateful and humbled by the exposure you have brought me and this story. I resteemed your post! Such an honor and thanks again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61372.29
ETH 2888.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62