King's Lament, a 50 Word Story

in #fiction5 years ago


Behind Dagmar, every church bell in the capital began to toll. "Uncle!" She turned and ran down the hill.

Her bodyguard caught up, grabbing her wrist. "My Lady, there's nothing you can do. The king is gone."

She clenched her fist. "One day, I'll kill the bastard who did this."

 


 

Wow. It's been a long long while since I found the time to write a fifty word story. I'd forgotten how great it can feel.

As always, a big thank you to Jayna for organising this every week.

This little snippet of story comes from the Brennpunkt universe, in which I've written a short story as well as half a novel draft.

Big thank you to the INKlings for helping me to refine this little bite-sized bit of story.

Hugs

Jasmine


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://jasminearch.com/index.php/2018/12/04/kings-lament-a-50-word-story/
If you would like to read some of my other work, feel free to have a look around on my off-Steem blog page by clicking the banner.

My library there contains all of the pieces I’ve written since starting my blockchain adventure.






As a writer, finding the right community–the right tribe–makes all the difference.

For me, that’s the INKubator. I’m one of the admins there, and I have to say I’ve never been more proud of something I helped build, than I am of the INKubator.

We help each other improve, lovingly drown each other’s drafts in red ink, and help each other brainstorm.

But we’re more than a writing club. We’re a family. We root for each other as we submit pieces for various publication venues.
We cheer and join in victory dances when a piece is accepted. We support each other through the disappointment of the inevitable rejections.

We hang out, playing as hard as we work, and from the madness of our conversations, more stories are born.

As a community, we span the globe, with members from Asia, Australia, Europe and the US, so chances are there will be someone there if you should decide to drop in.

If we’re quiet, that’s because we’re writing.

If you love writing, we’d love to meet you! Click on the banner below to pay us a visit.





Steemitramble




Steemitengine
The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

A mad woman on the lose! - not good for the bad guys.

She's mad alright.

This is wonderful, @jasminearch. I’m amazed at how you brought a setting, a character and a dramatic situation to life in 50 words!

Thanks. INK magic at its best. ;-)

Nice read. I leave an upvote for this article thumbsup

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95