I Want My Father Retried

in #fiction6 years ago

Isaiah Jonathan, 27 is the eldest child of retired Senior Police officer Philip Jonathan. After his degree program in Computer education at one of the popular university in town he was posted to Manku village for the National Youth Service Corps (NYSC) scheme. On the completion of the orientation exercise one week ago, he sought and got redeployment to his native (Katafi) state so he could be close and also monitoring the case his dad was in.
I hope the Police force would reverse the guilty verdict on my father but I am keeping an open mind Isaiah said to his friends. Whatever happens though we have no choice but to accept.

In a letter Isaiah Jonathan wrote addressed to Segun Oladapo the special adviser to the IGP (Inspector General of Police) and also a friend of the family. He stated claims personal reasons why his father should be retried.
I certainly have no grudge against anybody Isaiah said in his letter, whatever happened had nothing to do with me, it was between my father and them. May be they don’t like his face he continued! But I believe what is right should be right and what is wrong should be wrong he continued.
I’m still trying to come to terms how the whole thing even started. We were certain things were not going right with him at the office but when the first murder charges was brought up against my father and some other officers by the Police department had ended we thought it was all over, then another trial started all over again. We knew they were all out for him so in that sense I was not surprised by the judgment Isaiah stated.

I would prefer a retrial so that everybody can see that he is innocent because if he is freed without him being properly tried, it would look like we paid for his freedom.
My father is very innocent. He was at home he had already retired I saw him that day; it was a Friday some friends visited me and i was going to drop them. My room is close to the sitting room, I saw him with some of his friends as I drove out. Now he is been accused of committing murder.
I just can’t pinpoint any reason for his present persecutions; because my father never rubbed his nose where it doesn’t concern him I know that for a fact. He is the last person one would expect a thing like this to happen to. He abhors violence. As for my mother, she has been taking things rather calmly. She is indeed everybody’s reference point. She is teaching at a government school.
My brothers and sisters were also in shock but now they are learning to be calm about it. I just can’t wait for the day the final verdict will be announced. All I’m advocating for is that my father be granted a fair retrial. Thanks

Image source

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Jayboss from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61372.42
ETH 2928.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66